Survey (groan)


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I've read this on a couple of friends' blogs and I found it really entertaining. If you're one of those people who despises these things, feel free to ignore it.

45 random things you probably never needed to know about me:

1. Whats your name spelt backwards?: Yesdnil (I don't like that "nil" is in my name somewhere... although I like that "yes" is in there... makes me seem optimisitic... or easy? Let's stick with optimisitic.)

2. What did you do last night?: Went out for dinner with clients to a swanky restaurant

3. The last thing you downloaded onto your computer?: Norton anti-virus updates

4. Have you ever licked a 9 volt battery?: I'm pretty sure my brother would have coaxed me into it at some point when I was a kid.

5. Last time you swam in a pool?: about a week ago! There's one next door!

6. What are you wearing?: Club Monaco khaki shorts and a green American Apparel t-shirt, and some wooden bangle bracelets (and YES, I am back to wearing a bra!).

7. How many cars have you owned?: ZERO. In town, I'm all about the proletariat chariot!

8. Type of music you dislike most?: I'd have to say death metal, or anything that's just noisy and pointless.

9. Are you registered to vote?: Damn right. I'd be publicly flogged by the members of my program if I weren't! And I have voted in every election for which I was eligible. Go vote!

10. Do you have cable?: Nope. We used to have satelite at the guest house, but don't anymore. So we get TV5 Monde and some Burkinabe MTV channel. That's it.

11. What kind of computer do you use?: A Dell laptop the company bought me. Yes, I know I'm spoiled...😊

12. Ever made a prank phone call?: Probably. It seems like something silly me and my girlfriends might have done when we were young. Does drunk-dialing count? Cuz I'm pretty much the queen of that.

13. You like anyone right now?: Not in a romantic sense, no. I think I'm afraid to.

14. Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving?: Sky diving for sure, but no bungee. I don't like the springing back up part... seems unnatural.

15. Furthest place you ever traveled?: Africa!

16. What's your favorite comic strip?: Calvin and Hobbes, or that really grumpy lady who smokes... anyone know her name?

17. Do u know all the words to the national anthem?: Yes I do, both the English and French versions.

18. Shower, morning or night?: Usually morning to wake up, but especially here I find showering at night to rinse off the sweat and dust from the day is kind of nice.

19. Best movie you've seen in the past month?: Haven't seen a movie in a month I don't think. Wait, that's a lie... I saw some movie about Lavender on the plane here... With Judy Dench and some other English actress I like who is in Harry Potter. It was about some kid they find washed up on shore who ends up playing the violin or something... Anyway, I didn't really get it.

20. Favorite pizza toppings?: Broccoli, pineapple, and tandoori chicken (but not together).

21. Chips or popcorn?: Depends on my mood. I really do like chips, though.

22. What cell phone provider do you have?: No idea. Some crazy African one. I'm on some company fleet (again, I know I'm spoiled) so I have no idea how it works here. I think it's called TelCel?

23. Have you ever smoked peanut shells?: Do people actually do that? That seriously sounds unsafe.

24. Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?: That's just funny, but I will answer with a resounding NO.

25. Orange Juice or apple?: Definitely orange. My morning OJ is as necessary as oxygen.

26. Who were the last people you sat at lunch with?: Pascal! Same as every single day I've been here.

27. Favorite chocolate bar?: Skor. The key is to break it up inside the package BEFORE you open it so you get nice bite-sized bits.

28. Who is your longest friend and how long?: You know who you are... Krissy O! 😊 Born two weeks apart, and our moms knew each other while preggers. Does in utero count? I'm sure we were bonding even then.

29. Last time you ate a homegrown tomato?: Probably last summer? Not too sure but I know enough people who garden I MUST have eaten a homegrown one. Wait, what am I saying. Probably last week sometime! All fruit and veg here is homegrown! Wow.. I'm so not used to living in Africa yet.

30. Have you ever won a trophy?: Yup, I have. They're in a box somewhere in my parents' basement where they belong. EXCEPT my Duchess trophy from the Scottish which I displayed with pride. Go Blackie!

31. Favorite arcade game?: Never really into arcade games, sorry.

32. Ever ordered from an infomercial?: Nope, but I pretty much know all of them by heart! I love watching them!

33. Sprite or 7-UP?: Don't care. I would rather Fanta or Ginger ale, but I don't drink pop usually.

34. Have you ever had to wear a uniform to school/work?: Yes, back in the old days of working at Motionware and various bars/restaurants. I used to wear business-casual stuff at the office in Ottawa, does that count? Here pretty much anything goes.

35. Last thing you bought at Shoppers Drug Mart?: About $90 worth of stuff before I moved, including Gravol (very grateful I bought that) and sanitizing wipes and other field essentials.

36. Ever thrown up in public?: Oh gosh yes. Aside from the pharmacy incident last week, there have been a few Ottawa pubs who have had their porcelain goddesses worshiped by me. If you want the best stories, ask the team. They know all.

37. Would you prefer being a millionaire or finding true love?: I agree with Meg's answer: my true love who happens to be a millionaire. Duh!

38. Do you believe in love at first sight?: I would really like to. I think I'm just getting too cynical now. I keep holding out hope, though, so you never know.

39. SPONGEBOB OR JIMMY NEUTRON?: Who ARE these people? Meg, I agree with you, I think these are a little after our time. I will say the Fraggles or maybe Teddy Ruxpin? Or Rupert!

40. Did you have long hair as a young kid?: Yes, super long blonde hair. I loved it but it was really tough to manage and my mom always insisted on tying it up (which involved lots of yanking and shrieking and stress for everyone involved). We ended up cutting it short.

41. What message is on your voicemail machine?: A very formal but friendly bilingual message (French first though because it's a French country!). Back home it used to be "Hello, you've reached the Lindsa/eys... " I think that was my favourite so far.

42. Where would you like to go right now?: To SNP and throw the ball around with the girls, then head to the Pump for a beer like old times. Man I'd kill for that. If not, somewhere I could put on a nice dress and heels and wear perfume without worrying about being eaten by bugs. I'm enjoying low-maintenance living, but sometimes you need to feel like a woman, you know?

43. Whats the name of your pet?: No pets here, but in Ottawa my parents have two cats to whom I am technically "godmother", named Sulu and Shelby.

44. What kind of back pack do you have, and what's in it?: Just bought a new one before leaving. SO good. It's a Vaude pack from Bushtukah (best store ever), 40 litres, all the bells and whistles including camel back and rain cover. Love it. As for the contents, I use it mostly for the field so it's empty right now, awaiting my next excursion.

45. What do you think about most?: I can't say it's just one thing, but more of a constant rotation between a few. Stevie D, tell Andre his theory about why women are always angry is totally right! In no particular order, I'd say it's: work, the team, family, and preoccupations about food and sleep thrown in there somewhere.

So that's about it, folks. I realize this doesn't have much to do with Africa or anything, but I thought it might be enjoyable for some of you. Happy Friday!

-Brownie

Advertisement



2nd June 2006

: )
Hey Brownie, Thanks for entertainment! Who's goning to fill your shoes this year for the duchess? Miss you A LOT back here.
5th June 2006

No one can touch the Dutchess award with a comment like "Go Blackie!!" Come on now, everyone knows I rule, so therefore you Rule in comparison! PS: Wanda, you have no chance at Dutchess unless you include me. BTW, Wednesday, be prepared to cry after I win the Beer-off!! Go Brownie!!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb