Expensive Taste? But of course!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody
I hope you're all doing well and that Ottawa weather has finally come to grips with the fact that it's June. Things here have been good. More eventful than I would normally like, but I guess that's what I get for heading out on some crazy African adventure! 😊

So, as my faithful readership will know from a previous post, I was sick in the field about 5 days ago. Well, I haven't posted much since then because I have continued to be sick and puke up my food within an hour or two of eating it. Not pretty. I tried eating tame things like plain rice and juice and stuff like that, but no dice. It all kept coming back up. So yesterday (after a sleepless night camped out on my bathroom floor on a towel) I let the guys convince me that I should see a doctor. So I took the dreaded trip to the expat clinic here. They don't exclusively treat expats, but they treat embassadors and stuff like that so they have a standard of care that most expats are comfortable with compared to other local clinics. Anyway, their doctor examined me (he was very glad I spoke French and so was I) and did a malaria test which I am sure is a scam to charge fees because I didn't even have a fever so it clearly wasn't malaria... BUT ANYWAY, he decided I had some gastroenteritis thing (spelling anyone?) and gave me some prescriptions and stuff. I didn't have a chance to get them filled so I figured I'd just start them the next day.

So that night we went out for dinner to this super swanky restaurant called Le Vert Galant, which is one of the nicest restaurants in Ouagadougou. Pricey for African standards, but for Canadian standards it's about normal. Anyway, it turns out that my stomach likes expensive French food because I kept it all down without the meds! Woot! So I think I'm gonna tell my boss he needs to take me there for the next few days since that's all my stomach seems to be able to handle... 😊

Other than that, I think I may have found a workout buddy. One of the guys we were out with last night (expat clients who live in town here) has a partner who just moved here around the same time as me, and she goes to the gym regularly and is always looking for someone to go with. I said I'd be MORE than happy to go with her ANYTIME so I gave him my cell number to give to her and hopefully it will work out. I guess she goes about 3 times a week, so that plus yoga should keep me in good rugby shape! Not to mention the headstart I've gotten from shedding those pounds from illness... I've lost nearly 10 lbs since I've been here! Ok, so it's not really the most ideal or pleasant diet, but it sure is effective! Anyway, hopefully continued fitness will keep me fighting trim for my return to the pitch next season.

Well, that's about it for now. Not much else to report. I hope you are all doing well and keep me posted on any excitement (or non-excitement, even the mundane is exciting for me if it's from Canada!).

Much love to all,
-Brownie

Advertisement



2nd June 2006

of course
you, expensive taste...get outa here! love ya H/F, xoxo.
2nd June 2006

Dieting
Linds, from what we remember, you didn't have an extra 10 lbs to lose. Keep trying to eat food your familiar with, it may be all that exotic, rice etc. is just too exotic for your Canadian stomach lol :) We now have normal temperatures (for May) here, so I'm sure Mother Nature will get her act together and finally figure out what month it is and all will be well. We love reading about you, so keep it all coming. Love you
2nd June 2006

Glad your feeling a bit better Linds! being sick sucks. I'm admiring your fitness dedication as well...I think I need to take a lesson from you regarding gym attendance! hugs, Jordan
5th June 2006

fancy french food .... that you could keep down..... don't tell me you found a poutine place in Africa!! ahaha glad that your keeping some things down. Lots of hugs, Balchin

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb