Flying Free


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 24th 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Heya, everybody
I hope you're all doing super. Things have sadly gone back to normal here pretty much. Not too much excitement going on now that that interns have headed back to the field. Work is busy though, and I'm attacking it with gusto so it feels good to be getting things done.

Ok, I realize this is going to border on too much info for some of you but this must be said: I haven't worn a bra in 4 days, and it's AMAZING! Due to my crazy sunburn from the weekend, the straps rub and irritate it and there was no way I could wear one comfortably so I just haven't. And wow, a whole new world of comfort! I mean, it's not like I'm jogging or anything but I think I could seriously get used to this. Watch out Ottawa: Bra-less Brownie on the loose!

Ok, now that all my male readership have probably "unsubscribed" (sorry guys) I will talk about something a little more manly... DRIVING! I had my first driving lesson today and I have to say, I'm not a total loss! I sort of felt like I was putting on a bit of a show for the locals who were standing around. Especially when I stopped at a corner and stalled trying to restart. I'm sure they were thinking "look at that silly white girl trying to drive...". Anyway, it got better as I went and I felt pretty comfortable. I'm scared that I'll brake sometime and forget the clutch and break the car somehow, or just not brake altogether because I'm worried I'll do it wrong. Oh the stress of learning a new skill! Anyway, I'm sure to master it eventually. I have a lesson again on Friday.

Now for a funny story...

I was discussing with your VP exploration here about going into the field for some time, and he wanted to know if I'd done any first aid. I said I had (St John's Ambulance) and I felt comfortable administering CPR, etc. He wanted to reassure me that we had been very lucky and not had really any serious injuries, but it was better to be safe than sorry. Apparently the most serious injury that was had was up at our main site in the north east (prime desert country). One of our employees was on his bike and I guess he got side swiped by a donkey cart, was thrown from his bike and suffered a concussion and a broken arm. The driver didn't even stop, so it was a full on hit-and-run! I'm not making this up!!! Since it happened on our property, there has to be an incident report filed which gets sent to the head office explaining what happened, how it could have been prevented, what steps have been taken to prevent accidents like this in the future, etc. I guess our VP got an e-mail back from head office saying it was the best incident report they'd ever read. 😊 "Man Sideswiped by Donkey Cart" I bet it's on someone's fridge somewhere!

Anyway, I'm sure by now you're all getting a taste for the craziness in which I now live. It is actually really common to see donkey carts in the street here, even in town. They share the roads with the cars and the million-and-one mopeds that are buzzing around everywhere. I guess steering clear of donkey carts is always a good idea!

-Brownie


Advertisement



24th May 2006

That no bra idea sounds nice! I should really try to feel comfortable enough to do that, although it might be a little too risque for the office. hmmm....
24th May 2006

they're not looking at the white girl who can't drive...they're looking at her puppies who aren't muzzled!!! :P miss you like crazy (about to break into a moffats song!)
24th May 2006

Boobies
ok so it's not enough that you have way bigger cans than I do, but now you're doing the one thing, going braless, us small chested people had over the larger breasted girls-JERK! I say, you put on a bra! how is it even possible to be braless with jugs the size of large fruits?! well enjoy the last advantage of bearing small breasts had! and Take care, signed your forever envious small chested friend, H/F.
25th May 2006

Bra's are good
Browner, Did I ever describe to you the horror I witnessed while being the liaison for Rugby Canada - it involved a homeless looking women in Civic Emerg, and no bra (needless to say - they were swaying around her waist!). The moral or this story - keep the bra.

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb