Thanks, Guys!!!


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

This one is for you guys:

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone for their encouraging words and thoughts over the last few days. It's been amazing to feel the wave of support reach all the way across the ocean! Thank you so much for all your text messages and postings and e-mails and phone calls. They mean so much to me over here, especially when I'm going through tough stuff like last week. Luckily things are looking up and getting better every day. I couldn't have stuck it out without you.

Thanks.

In other news, I'm supposed to start my driving classes with our staff driver today. However, it has proceeded to rain like crazy so I don't know if we'll be able to. Depends on when it lets up. Otherwise, I guess I'll start tomorrow. Hopefully by the weekend I'll be able to practice a bit.

Tonight is the last night that the interns are in town for awhile. It's been great having them here, although I definitely haven't gotten too much sleep. While they're in town they're on holiday, but I have to be at the office early every day so I've been a bit tired! But it's been great and totally worth it and I will be able to catch up on my sleep over the next few weeks while they're away and I'm bored again and wanting to poke my eyes out.

Last night we ended up having some snacks at the spot we like to go to (cuz they have draught beer) and then we hit up the local bowling alley! Yup, there's a bowling alley here. I guess it's new and it was totally crowded. I couldn't believe it. 10pm on a Monday night and we couldn't get a lane (there are only 4) cuz it was totally jammed! We ended up staying around and having a drink instead (they also have draught beer) and carried on until around 11:30 when those of us who had to work (Sebastien also works in town) had to get home to bed. Tonight I have no idea what we'll do, but it's bound to be exciting. I'm worried I'm going to miss these guys a lot when they leave, but I'm actually going to be racing around Burkina Faso quite a bit in the next month so maybe I won't be so lonely.

My schedule for the next bit looks something like this:

May 27-29: property in the north
May 30: Meeting in Ouagadougou
June 1-3: property in the south-west
June 6-30: property in the north-east (yup, staying up there for almost a month! arg!)

While I'm away in June I'm hoping to get up to Niger and see our operations over there. The site is right close to the border so it would really only be a day trip to head over and come back. I'm trying to convince my boss. He says "If I'm good"... whatever! 😊

Anyway, I supposed I've rambled enough for now. Hopefully I'll have some more pics for you soon. My trips in the field should yield lots of good pics of how people really live here. Well, "good" as in "depressing but candid". With any luck, the work I'm doing here will go really well and we'll have some good Before and After shots to show the positive impact we've had here!

Have a fantastic day, and I look forward to hearing about Ottawa life. Keep the e-mails/comments coming!

xoxo
-Brownie


Advertisement



23rd May 2006

Hi Lindsey
Hi there gorgeous girl, we have been reading all the information you have been posting and really finding it interesting. Hope everything goes well for you over the next few weeks. Keep on posting and we will be reading. Loads of Love
23rd May 2006

Hey Brownie Keep it up! so glad things are picking up. I hope you have a great time touring around and that everything goes "well" ahaha. Ok stupid i know. Looking forward to more pics. Balchin

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb