Survivin..


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
October 19th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

I decided I would write my blog on my own computer and they copy paste the whole thing since computers here are just crap and the keyboard is all messed up.

So it’s officially been a month for me in Burkina and I am a bit tripping out. I am starting to realize that it will be forever here. I don’t know if I told you guys that before but I am not planning to be working internationally anymore and this whole placement thing is kind of a big deal now. When I think that I have 7 more months here, it breaks my hearts really. I feel like I’ve been here forever already. As I said before, I started work last week but man, it pains me. I go to work for 8 AM until 4 PM with a half-hour break. The only thing I do for now is sitting there on this little clinical table thingy (not even a real desk) and write on my computer. I was told by the nurse guy to plan topics for my awareness activities. So this is what I did for the whole week without having anyone really wondering what I was doing or even telling me if it was alright. Today, I finally have a meeting with the other girl in charge of me. She finally told me my main activities for the time I was going to be here. Basically, we are still waiting for that 3rd building at the clinic to be built. Once its done, I will start personal counselling with people on hygiene, health, nutrition, HIV or whatever other thing they want. Then I will also do what she calls “causeries” so basically just a get together and chat on a health topic. And less often I will do the big awareness thing with a lot of people. But what sucks, is that they have no resources at all. No money nothing. They even had to take the money out of another project to build the building since they kind of have to do it now since I am here. Which is kind of logic. But I was a bit frustrated that it took her a week to tell me that. I mean now I have a better understanding of what I will do, but I sort of lost a whole week of work.
Genebas houseGenebas houseGenebas house

This is where Geneba and her son live. In the other room, its her mom and her brother


Living at home is also a bit boring. Although I have the big house and all, there isn’t much to do. Life is starting to be like a routine and god knows I hate routines!! I was enjoying myself so much more when I was just exploring the city and meeting people. I also have Belko's sister now living with me at my place with her son. It’s good to have people there. At least I can talk to people. I don’t really know my neighbourhood much and its kinda hard when you have someone doing all your stuff too. Although we went to visit a neighbour the other day and spent like 1-2 hours there. Its good to know who lives close by but frustrates me to know how they are living though. They basically hire the cousin to be the maid but treat her like shit compared to the other kids. That always broke my heart.

I also really miss Home. I think it never really happened to me before but I mean my last trips were never longer than 5 weeks, so it kinda makes sense. I like it here but its so hard to
Cooking placeCooking placeCooking place

This is where they cook, its basically their yard
meet people. That’s exactly what I was telling Geneba the other day. Here, you meet people yes, but you never know if you can trust them, so you cant make friends as easily as back home. And I mean, you all probably know that I cant be alone and always need to be surrounded by people. Its just that now, its always the same people and I would love some different company, some white friends maybe too!!

Anyway, I just think I am having my first little drop. I'm also so short on money right now, well was until a miraculous cheque of 60 $ came into my account. I basically had 1,60$ left in my pocket this weekend. Just enough to buy bread for breakfast for the next couple of days. Nothing else. I even called my girlfriend to tell her to call me instead cause I couldn’t afford the internet. How ridiculous is that? But now I can go and take 60 bucks out which will be enough to last me a good while. I spent all my October money in the first week. The whole 1150$!! But I have to explain that I had to pay
Me and their momMe and their momMe and their mom

This is their mom who dressed up all pretty for the celebration.
3 months of rent in advance, a fridge, furniture, dishes and food. It was so much. Courtney is lucky to have found a furnished place. It will be like hell for me to sell all that crap when I go.

I also celebrated Ramadan last Friday. Me and Belko went in his family to see his dad, the 95 year old man who cant walk. He’s like the elder of the neighbourhood, but he’s so nice and friendly. And we went to eat at his mom’s place. I found out after 2 weeks of knowing her that she doesn’t speak French. I would have been happy to know that before. She also asked me if I could give her a ride on my moped so that she could go see the guy who sells her charcoal. That’s what she does, she buy a huge bag of charcoal, puts it in smaller bags and sells it. So she got dressed all nice, came of the moped and showed me the way with her hands since she doesn’t speak French. I was scared of getting lost but it was fine. It was nice to see people looking at me though. There
EatingEatingEating

For some unknown reason, we always end up eating on the ground even if I have a table
was no more “nassara” name or anything. I think they were more wondering how much the old lady is on the white girl’s moped. Ahah, they sort of respected me I guess.

I am also teaching Benega's son. We went over the multiplication table and I make him tests. Benega also likes to practice her English with me, but unfortunately, the only English sentences she has on paper are about everything you would need to flirt with an English white guy. It’s pathetic. I laugh at her so much. She’s so desperate.

I learned a lot about her family too, let’s say from the daughter perspective. She had her son out of marriage and was basically told by her parents to abandon him. They never respected her son until about now, where they consider him. The man she was with, who was from another “race” than what her family is, left her because her parents never approved of her relationship. They want her to marry a “peul” guy but it’s hard to do when they now live on a “mossi” territory. If she would be in the village, then maybe. She also told me that she worked for
Wearing the PagneWearing the PagneWearing the Pagne

Okay; this is totally a false picture. I wore it once and didnt like it. Its so hot that it creates so much swet under the pagne: Maybe i'll wear it when its colder
a German family for 6 years and they asked her to come with her to Germany. They asked her dad and he never let her go. But what sucks is that her brothers (she’s the only daughter) have travelled and still will travel Europe and the States. I told her I understand why though. Since here women are the one in charge of the house, she is the only one who can and will take care of her parents when they get old. I asked her if she really thinks Belko would go and cook and clean for his mom if she gets old? She laughed and said no. So she understood better that her dad took this decision sort of out of security for him and his wife. But it does suck for her though. She is now raising her son alone and doesn’t really get helped by her parents or her brothers. But she is strong though. J

But yeah, I am finally going to travel around, after a month in the capital city. I am leaving to visit Sara in Hounde on Sunday and then will be heading to Bobo for the volunteers meeting and get-together. So it will be a nice break from work and from the city. I also hope it will put me in a better mood and kind of give me some more energy to continue. I cant wait to meet other people. I am sure there will be a ton of people from Ouaga there too.

Anyway, I am writing this at work ahhaha. Just to do nothing like everyone else. I cant wait to really start working and be in place. Then I will feel like I’ll have a purpose, cause right now, I’m still in the waiting phase. But I’ve been waiting for a long time for someone who’s here for 8 months.

Anyway, cant wait for May to arrive…….. L


Advertisement



19th October 2007

hang in there
Nath, you're strong and resilient. Hopefully the upcoming travels will lift your spirits and motivate you more. If you're not planning on working internationally anymore (which I didn't know by the way) then this is a chance to be out of the Western world.. and these chances don't come very often. Hang in there! Use your amazing social skills to meet more people and eventually you'll form solid friendships with people you can trust. love you!
22nd October 2007

To Burkina From Ghana
NATH!!!! That sucks that stuff is feeling kind of down for you right now, I totally understand what you mean about friends. Me and you both are way to social to have this much alone time! I'm sure you also feel the pang of weekends of alone -- and it's true, it's much harder to meet friends. However, just remember the whole culture shock curve, and Lia's right -- you will make friends that you can trust and then life will start to look up :). I am sure you are already having a great time in Bobo, I know I really enjoyed my partner meeting last week. Also, I sent you an email a while ago but I always get confused which address you use... I sent you my number, I need yours! Mine is 0245352374 (I don't know what international calling code you use from Burkina though). Anyways call me, I miss you! And you Sara and I need to arrange some times to get together! Smile :) C.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb