Okavango Delta Time


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana
December 17th 2005
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Getting readyGetting readyGetting ready

Jumping on our mokoro
I think the word Okavango has to be one of the coolest words in the world. It just feels so good to say it. We drove from Namibia to Botswana and drove to the town of Etsha 13 where we dropped our truck off and were transported to our camp on the Okavango Delta. We set up there and spent most of the day drinking cold Windhoeks and Lions in the bar on the lagoon. The next morn we woke up at 5am(becoming very much a trend on this trip) and caught a boat down the lagoon and to the delta itself. The speed boat was fantastic. I was sitting right in the front and the water was like glass displaying a perfect mirror image of above. Saw three crocs on the way in. When we arrived we got into our mokoro's ( canoes manned by polers that push you around with long sticks) It was a beautiful one hour ride into the Delta where we stopped at an island and set up camp. Took a bit of a nap, then Theo and I had a 2 hour tour around the delta with our poler, Jamison. It was magical. This delta
Hey good lookin!Hey good lookin!Hey good lookin!

Nothing new
is unreal, it is massive covering something like 40 000 sq/km. Unfortunately it only floods in April/May and hence there was not too much in the line of wildlife around. But nonetheless it was great. We did come across a green mamba swimming in the water by our boat. We also heard some hippos and went on a search to no avail. It was pretty exciting though, they sounded so close. It got the hair on my back to raise. The day we got back I went on a boat cruise around the lagoon. The best thing I saw was a majestic African Fish Eagle swoop down on the water to catch a fish.
It was $160 to go in there, bloody expensive. Its a funny thing when you travel, it is so easy to justify spending money on things. You just reason that well, I am here now I might as well do it. I suppose it is the best way to go about it but I sometimes wish I held back a little more. But on the other hand I want to do as much as possible. I always want to see what is around the next corner.
Master!Master!Master!

This gentelman's name is, 'Master'
I love it and that is why I am so drawn to travelling, it's a different picture everyday.
I want to come back to the Delta and see it in flood with the thousands of elephants migrating across it. I cannot wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Island campingIsland camping
Island camping

Our camp on the island in the delta
Mr. JamisonMr. Jamison
Mr. Jamison

Our poler, Jameson. I had an amazing conversation with him about his life, dreams and the future in general. Amazing man.


Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb