Croc Farm, Tsodilo Hills and Other Recent Escapades + Photos


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Okavango Delta
November 9th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Written: Monday November 9th, 2009 at 10:00pm

I paid a visit to the local crocodile farm the other day which is a few kilometres away from Shakawe and home to 9000 crocodiles including a massive one named Sam. The purpose of the farm is to breed crocodiles and release them into the wild, for tourism purposes and to produce crocodile leather which is then exported. I went there just to check it out but then I went back a second time for a different reason and found out that someone had left the door open to one of the areas where the baby crocs were being kept. 200 baby crocodiles ended up escaping (not from the property though) and collecting them was quite a hilarious scene.
I have also seen a lot of wildlife in the past couple of weeks, including a python, a black mamba, giant beetles and the usual hippos and monkeys. I was fishing in a boat on the river the other day when a particular hippo came out of the water at us because it wasn’t happy that we were there. That was the first time that I had seen more than the head of a hippo. They are massive. It was about 15 meters away from us but they can swim really fast so we got out of there as fast as we could. I also saw a chameleon for the first time. Well, actually I almost missed it because it was camouflaged with the road which it was crossing but when I did see it I moved it off of the road into a tree so that it didn’t get run over. As soon as it was placed in the tree it started turning green and brown which was really cool. I saw it on the way to Tsodilo Hills, which is where 3000 year old rock paintings can be found.
I also had a braii at my house the other day with a few other volunteers that were in Shakawe for the weekend. Having a braii is pretty much like having a BBQ but the meat is cooked on a grill over a fire. We sat in my yard and it was there that I witnessed the lobster-spider. By lobster-spider I mean a giant spider that has pinchers and looks like a lobster. These spiders have a name but I can’t remember what it is. Anyways, I have never seen anything like it. These spiders also have giant fangs and can move really quickly!
Work has also been interesting lately. I have been going to a lot of different villages for various reasons. Often it is to meet with community members to discuss one of TOCaDI’s projects. I have also been going to Shaikarawe a lot, which is the village where the community garden project is being started up again. My supervisor is away right now which means that I am responsible for this project. There is a lot to do and it’s difficult to work alone here. I will also be away from Shakawe next week as I am going to Gaborone for a WUSC HIV/AIDS sector meeting. Then I will be back here for a few more weeks until I go to Swakopmund, Namibia, for Christmas. Swakopmund is on the Namibian coast and there is so much to do there including sandboarding in the dunes! I can’t wait. I will be going there with another student who is in my program at UofT who is in Zambia right now. But until then, life goes on in Shakawe... (and briefly in Gaborone).


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



10th November 2009

Crazy Croc Farm
What a thing to witness! 200 baby Crocs running wild hahah, I can't get over the absolute enormity of Sam, he looks hungry. Its so fantastic that you get to be around these amazing animals in their natural habitat, instead of seeing them in the zoo, pet store or Discovery Channel. Its too bad that you couldnt get a close up pic of the lobster spider, I really need to see one of these things. I have seen pics and read about swakopmund online, You are lucky it looks like there is enless fun to be had there. I will be thinking of you riding the dunes, Keep up the blog entries, I love to read them and see your pics! I love you Kirstie!
11th November 2009

wow, quite the menagerie! the hippos sound frightening. I didn't realize they were dangerous beasts but I guess anything that size would be. Thanks for the photos and the blog. Life goes on here. Going to visit everyone on Vancouver Island at Christmas. Otherwise I'm teaching and working at the U. love to you Kirstie, Uncle Neil
11th November 2009

Hey, it sounds like it will be a good christmas over there. Thanks for the comments. It's nice to hear from people at home and to know that people are actually reading my blog. Talk to you soon, Kirstie
11th November 2009

email and blog
Dear Kirstie Thank you for your email I love reading your blog Much love Granny
17th November 2009

What an Experiance!
Hi Kirstie; Holy crap are you ever doing some unbelievable stuff, you are seeing first hand the kind of things (Black Mambas) that makes Kerry pull the covers over her head. Just to be able to get e feel for the way people live on the other side of the world is a true treasure. Your pictures and stories are enjoyed by the both of us, we make hard copies for Dan's GnG. Keep up the good work girl! Your Awesome! Dave and Kerry
7th April 2010

sam
sam looks like one bad ass croc! hahaha i would love to see those baby crocs! and i love the chameleon! SO CUTE! good thing he has those special eyes that he can move seperatly to see when he crosses the road. Love your blogs just reading this for the second time a few month down the road. miss you lots here cant wait for you to come home. its like you are living in the nature dvd's over there! watch out for those hippos! vegetarians but very protective of their young! come home and watch nature dvds again with me and point out the hidden facts only you know first hand! love you!
5th August 2010

croc consultant
Hi, Great hearing about what you do. I will be in your area doing croc work in middle of Sept. I live in Zim. Hope to meet up. Regards Gavin

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb