Getting to Maun (which meant)


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Maun
November 15th 2015
Published: November 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After a couple of nights relaxing at the hostel in Windhoek I was on the move again bright and early Sunday morning. I had a bus to catch at 6am which meant I needed to be at the bus station about 5:15-5:30 which meant that I needed to catch a cab at 5 which meant I needed to get up at 4:30 to pack all my things….Also, I asked the reception to find me a ride and their “guy” charged 5 times as much as any ride in town should cost. So it was up to me to find my own ride. I kind of forgot it was a Sunday which meant that the regular work traffic was not in effect. Crap. Buuuuut I managed to find a lift quite quickly and found out that the bus station was just a corner of a street. I paid the normal amount and felt good when a couple of guys were also waiting for the same bus. Yay! So the bus left headed for Gaborone which meant I needed to get off at the Ghanzi junction and thumb it the rest of the way. I wasn’t really too sure how this would all work when I saw what I thought was the same bus that just dropped me off dropping other people off down the road…I asked if that was a bus to Maun and one guy said yes so I ran over and caught a lift with no hassle! Woa! Just like that I was on my way with plenty of daylight to spare. I also didn’t have any Pula (the money of Botswana) because the currency exchange places were closed because it was Sunday. Once in Maun there were plenty of taxis looking to give me a ride to where I wanted to go as a “special.” I later found out that most taxis are shared which means if you take a special they don’t pick up anyone else and charge you 5 times as much. One fella said it was 40 pula to get to where I wanted to go cuz it was so far. I said no way it should be 20 and he directed me to the taxi rank to find out. The first guy I asked said “special” and 20 pula. Ha! Take that silly taxi man!!! I arrived at my place of camping to find out that it had burned down 3 weeks before but they were still operating the bar and kitchen so I could just go down the road to set up my tent and come back for their facilities. Man. What an unknown adventure. But I made it, still in the daylight hours and booked a mokoro trip for the next morning and proceeded to enjoy some local refreshments J


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb