Survival of the fittest via natural selection...Venezolano style


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Zulian
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow...I made it through a very tough few days of travel on several very LONG bus trips. I now sit in an internet cafe in the barrio of Gestemani in Cartagena, Colombia...but didn´t get here easily. At this point I am too tired to go into detail...I will leave that till tomorrow. Lets just say that negative parts of the story include freezing and then sweltering buses, thunder storms, highway paralyzing car accidents, purse snatchers, unrelenting itty bitty gnats that bite like hell, corrupt as f--- policia at 10 different checkpoints at every damn kilometer approaching the border, credit cards that don´t work, strung out drug addict teenagers begging for a bolivar at the bus terminal, tough as hell kid demanding a bolivar and turning his nose up at food at the swanky mall, Colombian immigration officials who like to scream in your face to get a Colombian passport too, shit hole bathrooms that stink of shit...you know....everyday sort of stuff.
The highlights of the story include amazingly kind new friends and Chavistas who took me in when I was stranded, strangers helping me at every chance and need, gorgeous countryside and natural wonders, and the real life experience proving to me without a doubt that I am one tough gringa who can manage through all that shit and still arrive in Cartagena after 2 full days of bus travel with a real smile on her face and an actual spring in her step...swear to god I did! That is...in spite of my own personal body odor, sweaty everything, and very dirty clothes. That first cold shower as soon as I arrived in my hostel dormitory was like heaven...as will be dropping my clothes off at the laundromat tomorrow. Sweet luxuries unlike any other.

I´ll fill in the details of this very interesting last 2 days and try to upload some more pics tomorrow...right now...I need a nice ice cold something! Its hella hot in my birthplace of Cartagena de las Indias. Ahhh...the caribean...its nice to be back. 😊

Advertisement



19th August 2008

OMG
HOLY SHIT SON!!! Youre one badass chick -- be safe, love! XO L
19th August 2008

HOLY SHIT!!!
Girl, you must be tough-as-nails 'cause I know I wouldn't of made it as far as you have!! It must be because you are sooo young that you can tolerate all this......I must be what they call a "high maintenence girl"!!! I have to, at the very least, have clean bathrooms when I travel, and I would of been scared to death of all those crazy ass people you are talking about!!!! But on the other hand, one day you will have VERY interesting stories to tell your children and grandchildren!!!! Be careful.....I will worry about you until you come home and I see your beautiful face again!!! Love, Jules
20th August 2008

missing you
hey girl, you are a bad ass chick!! i love it, please be safe.. I miss you so much...
20th August 2008

Hi Annie!
I miss you too! Wish you could be here with me to see all these amazing places and meet all these special people! Thanks for reading the blog...it makes me feel closer to you. :)
27th August 2008

Tough Cookie
I always knew you were one tough cookie!! You go girl! More power to ya! Miss ya tons!! xoxo

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb