@ kenya


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
September 9th 2009
Published: September 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ashanti,

Yo

Pd: por peos electricos en kenya los lunes miercoles y viernes quitan la electricidad de 6 am a 6 pm :s

I am back!
Where should I start? I finally arrive to the volunteer’s house at Kiseria on Sunday, the house is beautiful and big, my “room” I huge, I do have to queen beds, an small living room and a space full bathroom with hot water but almost not water, hehehe
I finally meet Amanda (18 years old from Indiana) and Priscilla (22 years old from Toronto), they are my very special roomies, as you can imagine we got in confidence right away and go around to see the town that is close to us (about 30 minutes walking), I got my shampoo in the local store and we get back.
At night I meet Anne, she is helping us cooking and doing the laundry, she is very nice also.
@ night we were having dinner playing cards when suddenly the power got off until today (Tuesday 8) at noon but we got some lanterns and keep playing and telling jokes until late night
Monday morning Amanda took me in my first “Motatu” experience, a motatu is a kind of a bus, it has the size of the van like the one they use in Little Miss Sunshine but with very load music and crowed with up to 20 people and pretty noisy music (rap + hip hop + reggueaton) , when I got up my first thought was I was could get out by the window in case of a problem, then we got another motatu and get to Waltz office in Nairobi, I had the opportunity to meet the accountant and other people in the organization (they are all pretty nice) then we got 2 more buses and back to the house
This Tuesday I have my first teaching experience, the school is about 5 miles from home and we cover that distance in about 1 hour (more less). The high-school is pretty nice, it has 4 classrooms and about 15 students in total, I am giving math classes and probably physics also, is a very soul gratifying experience but kind of hard cause of the language, now I am back home and will take a nap
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Estoy de vuelta!
Por donde empiezo? Finalmente llegue a la casa de los voluntarios en Kiseria este domingo, conocí a mis rommies Amanda de 18 anos/Indiana que da clases y Priscilla de 22 años/Canadá que trabaja como voluntaria en una clínica, son burda de pinga! Al llegar deje mis cosas en mi cuarto que más bien es un anexo con dos camas matrimoniales una pequeña sala y un baño con bañera y agua caliente pero de muy poca presión… Lo primero que hicimos fue caminar hasta el pueblo que queda como a 5 km para así conocerlo, al llegar cenamos y jugamos cartas hasta que se fue la luz, buscamos linternas y seguimos jugando hasta tarde.

El lunes Amanda me llevo a la capital en unas camioneticas (dos) llamadas Motatus, estas son un tripeo por su música a todo volumen, ahí cabemos hasta 20 personas y es similar a la de Little Miss Sunshine :O al llegar a la sede de la organización tuve la oportunidad de conocerlos a todos un poco más, fue una grata experiencia, caminamos por ahí y de vuelta pala casa.

Hoy martes seguimos sin luz en la mañana, caminamos hasta la escuela que queda a unos 7-8 Km de la casa, es bonita pero pequeña (4 salones de clase y unos 15 alumnos), primero acompañe a Amanda a sus clases de ingles para ver cómo era la movida y después agarre mis macundales y di unas clasecitas de probabilidades, al principio sentí que estaba dando clases de chino pero al final entendieron aunque ya lo comprobare mañana porque les deje tarea pala casa J después caminamos de vuelta a la casa (estoy burda de cansado como podrán imaginar) y nos conseguimos con que la luz finalmente volvió (mas fino), ahora espero poder montar esto en la red y a descansar un poco
Saludos
Fred

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb