Caracas- City of Deceit


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
April 18th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Caracas yesterday afternoon and was almost instantanously overjoyed by the ensuing heat. My plane journey was anything but uneventful! Firstly when I arrived at the airport I checked in and the lady behind the desk said something about tax, I thought oh great more expense, but I went into a side office and they gave me 60,000 pesos (just under 20 pounds), confused but a good start.

Most of the plane was filled up with the crew of Pop Idol Latin America, I was sat next to two of the camera men, one was a hottie!! They were all very loud and excitable, the hottie next to me kept listening to his ipod and dancing (and playing pretend drums, oh yeah!).

I also met a very interested French man in the airport. He was a journalist for a Paris Paper call La Fringo (or something like that. He was in Venezuela to interview the Presidente!!! He had also been in Colombia, there is a Colombian French Women who has been kidnapped for over 8 years called Ingrid. He had been into the jungle with her husband doing an interview!! He was a very interesting man indeed.

I then had to wonder round the airport trying to change my money, not as easy as you would imagine!! Dollars are banned from Venzuela so the only way you can change money is to exchange them on the black market, good times! My bloody Visa card is not working here either so I went on the search for some wheeler dealers. Eventually I changed some moeny at a better rate than I should have and headed out looking for a taxi. By one of the officials I was guided to a "taxi" who once he had my bags in the car charged me an stupid amount of money, apparently other people paid the same!

I arrived at the hotel which is pretty nice, alothough Caracas is not. Theres 3 people in my group at the moment and we will be joined by another 11 soon. Thankfully we are leaving Caracas today and are heading down to the coast for some beach fun and rum cocktails, ahhhhhhhh so excited.

So far, although its only been a day, i have to say that I much prefer Colombia and feel a whole lot safer there! Venezuela is very expensive and feels quite corrupt/ trapped! But hopefully the sunny white beached will change my ideas!! Anyhoo ive got a sexy run down bus to catch, toodles!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb