Time flies like an arrow...


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
July 16th 2007
Published: July 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow...
I knew I didn't really keep my Blog up to date... but that I actually didn't write about anything of my Venezuela Experience, exept the arrival somehow slipped my mind...

Well... month have passed, I have seen a lot of this country and still there are so many things left, that I did not manage to visit and now it's already time to say good bye and start once again a new journey...

So I'll just try to sum up the most important moments and experiences...

After a pretty stressed start in my job here - because I had the first big conference I was in charge of just one month after my arrival, had to prepare sessions, select my trainer team, train the trainer-team, work on the logistics of the event and so on - I had some time to organize myself and really arrive in Caracas... About half the size of moscow, but it apears to be much more chaotic as the latin way of life is quite different! And it cost me a big deal to finally get an overview of this city and figure out in wich part I was at the moment...

After one month working it was finally decided - as I knew it might happen already before my arrival - that AIESEC Venezuela does not have enough money to pay us and therefore I had to find apart time job to pay my life here... And as I am a lucky girl I got the perfect offer just in time! The French High Shool in Caracas was in need of a German teacher and as the school year had already started and they had to asure the education of the students they weren't bound anymore to employ only qualified teachers. That means, that I could have the job, not beeing in any way related to this profession just because of the fact that I am German... Isn't life beautiful some times??? ;o)

So I got a job at a high prestige school, better paied than some Junior Manager in Caracas, teaching 13 to 17 year olds, class-sizes of 3 to 14 students, in German Language... and I promise you, that they learned almost as much about German Grammar than I did myself... and how the hell to explain the cases (Dativ, Accusativ and Genitiv) is still in parts a miracle for me, but I somehow managed and my 3 final year students who graduated with an oral German exam got very good and good marks, so sems, that I did not fail on them... (and the exam was done by another German Teacher who came from over seas to take the test!)
The school would have liked me to stay to keep teaching, but even though I do not want to miss this experience I decided, that I have to move on and quit my job...

3rd of December were Presidential Elections in Venezuela. A time quite tense in the country, as people are highly polarized... Red (Cavez) or Blue (Opposition). Marches everywhere, to show the amount of followers each side has and anxiety in the population, what will happen after the elections... Will there be fights in the streets between the parties, because people don't wanna accept the results, will there again a strike of industry as some 5 years ago, were you couldn't buy the most basic nutrision product...
We prepared... bought flower, pasta, food in cans, filled up empty bottles with drinking water, told the embassies where we live and how to contact us in case of emergencies, closed the office and school for monday 4th and waited ... and nothing happened...
Live just went on normally... some people frustrated, that Chavez won again and wasn't replaced by the opposition candidate, others celebrating in the streets all dressed up in red!

The X-Mas hollidays gave me a first chance to travel a bit in Venezuela... So I first went to a meeting in Barquisimeto, spent there some extra days with Ennys, a girl who at this time as well was in AIESEC and she showed me arround a bit... from there I went to Merida, a little town at the foothills of the Andes... Little meaning about 200 thousand ppl living there, which after Moscow and Caracas waas really kind of a village feeling ;o) - not to mention, that my home town has about 10.000 ;o)

We spent there a very relaxing X-Mas time, watching TV, hiking to the mountains, going up to the highest one in a cable car and dace a stupid AIESEC-Dace in the middle of the clouds, below a huge Mary-Statue, at almost 5000 meter altitude.
X-mas we enjoyed a very diverse, international dinner, cause our group consisted of 12 people - 1 Venezuelan, 2 US-Americans, 1 Botswanian, 1 Nigerian, 1 Ecuadorian, 1 Scottish, 1 Slovakian, 2 Argentinos, 1 Turk, and 1 German (me).
I somehow didn't get into a real X-Mas mood, but it was nice to spend these days together with other young people who were far from home...

For New Years Eve we headed to the beach, Cayo Sombrero, Close to the beach I had been my very first weekend in Venezuela, and comparebly pretty... this time we rented a house where we stood with 12 people! One big room in the center and 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms tothe sides... these houses are really just made to have a place to crash when spending a weekend at the beach!!! Btu we didn't need more, so it was cool!!! The fridge filled with Smirnof Ice, Rum, Beer and other mainly liquid things we faced a real challenge to get rid of all of it in just 2 days - but of course we managed ;o)

While some of the group went to another beach for the first days of the new year, I went back to Caracas, to have some days to arrive back there befor having to work again... School started again and as well my work for AIESEC with a big work load, as we had to move a conference to January, for the elections in December.

The next event to come up was Carneval... nothing spectacular... everybody running to the beaches, where it was almost impossible to find a space to put up the tents...

So far from me for this time!!!
I have one week to go in Venezuela and will try to write another entry before leaving here!

Huge hug from me to you! See you soon, somewhere in the world!!!
Antje

__________________________________________________________________________________________

Wow...
Ich war mir ja bewusst, dass ich meinen Blog sträflich vnachlässigt habe, aber dass ich tatsächlich seit meiner Ankunft hier keinen Eintrag mehr geschrieben habe habe ich völlig verdrängt...

Nun ja... Monate sind vergangen, ich habe viel gesehen von diesem Land und es gibt immer noch so viel mehr, dass ich nicht geschafft habe und nun ist es auch schon wieder fast Zeit mich zu verabschieden und zu neuen Taten aufzubrechen...

Daher versuche ich einfahc die wichtigsten Erlebnisse und Momente kur zusammen zu fassen...

Nach einem etwas anstrengenden Start in meinen Job hier - die erste Konferenz für die ich verantwortlich war fand knapp einen Monat nach meiner Anunft statt und ich musste die Workshops planen, die Trainer auswählen und ausbilden, an der Logistik arbeiten und noch vieles mehr - hatte ich dann eindlich ein bisschen Zeit mich in Caracas zu organisieren... Ungefähr halb so groß wie moskau, aber scheinbar doppelt so chaotisch, da der Latino-Lebensstil vollkommen anders ist! Und es hat mich ganz schön gekostet, einen Überblick über die Stadt zu bekommen und zu wissen, in welchen Stadtvierteln ich mich gerade bewege...

Nach einem Monat Arbeit war dann auch klar, dass AIESEC Venezuela nicht genug Geld hat um das Nationale Vorstand-Team zu bezahlen und ich musste mir einen Halbtages-Job sucher - wie schon im Vorab innerhalb des Teams diskutiert worden war... Und da ich ja ein Glückskind bin habe ich auch gleich das perfekte Angebot bekommen!! Das Französische Gymnasium in Caracas brauchte einen Deutsch Lehrer und da das Schuljahr schon begonnen hatte und die Ausbildung der Kinder gesichert werden musste konnten sie auch jemanden einstellen, der keine Lehrerausbildung hatte, sondern duch andere Qualifikationen geeignet war... und da ich Deutsch bin... Bingo! Das Leben ist doch manchmal schön!!! ;o)

So habe ich also einen Job an einer renomierten Schule bekommen, besser bezahlt als manch einer im Mittleren Management, 13- bis 17-jährige in Klassen mit 3 bis 13 Schülern in Deutsch unterrichtend... Und ich sage Dir, dass ich fast genausoviel über Deutsche Grammatik gelernt habe, wie meine Schüler... Und wie man die Fälle (Akkusativ, Dativ und Genitiv) in einer Fremdsprache erklären soll ist mir immer noch ein Rätsel, aber irgendwie habe ich es wohl doch hinbekommen, da meine 3 Abiturientinen in ihrer mündlichen Prüfung sehr gute und gute Ergebnisse erzielt haben... Ich habe also nicht völlig versagt... (Und die Prüfung wurde von einer anderen Lehrerin abgenommen, die extra für das Abi aus Europa gekommen ist)
Die Schule hätte mich ja gerne behalten, aber auch wenn ich die Erfahrung nicht missen möchte, habe ich beschlossen, dass es weiter gehen muss und meinen Job zum Ende des Schuljahres gekündigt!

Am 3. Dezember waren hier Präsidentschaftswahlen... Eine ziemlich angespannte Zeit, da das land politisch sehr stark polarisiert ist. Rot (Chavez) oder Blau (Opposition). Märsche und Kundgebungen überall, um die Zahl der Anhänger zur Schau zu stellen, und Ungewissheit im Volk, was nach den Wahlen passieren wird... Straßenschlachten zwischen den Lagern, da die Gegenseite die Wahl nicht anerkennen will? Ein erneuter Generalstreik der Industrie, so wie vor 5 Jahren, als man die grundlegendsten Lebensmittel nicht mehr kaufen konnte?
Wir haben uns auf alles vorbereitet! Mehl, Pasta, Dosenfutter eingekauft, Trinkwasser in Flaschen abgefüllt, den Botschaften mitgeteilt, wo wir wohnen und wie man uns im Ernstfall erreichen kann, das Büro und die Schule für den Montag nach der Wahl zugeschlossen und abgewartet.. und es ist nicht passiert...
Das Leben ging ganz normal weiter! Einige waren frustriert, dass Chavez wiedergewählt wurde, statt der Oppositionskandidat, andere haben auf der Strasse gefeiert, ganz in rot gekleidet...

Die Weihnachtsferien haben mir die erste Chance gegeben ein bisschen herum zu reisen... Zuerst bin ich nach Barquisimeto, zu einem AIESEC-Meeting, dann noch ein paar Tage bei Ennys geblieben, damals ein Mitglied von AIESEC, und sie het mir ein bisschen die Stadt und die Umgebung gezeigt... Von dort bin ich dann nach Merida, ein kleines Städtchen in den Anden-Ausläufern... klein bedeutet 200.000 Einwohner, was nach Moskau und Caracas eher einen dörflichen Eindruck auf mich gemacht hat ;o) - nicht zu erwähnen, dass mein Heimatsort ganze 10.000 Einwohner hat ;o)

Wir haben uns eine entspannte Weihnachtszeit gemacht, Fernsehen geguckt, durch die Berge gelaufen, den höchsten via Seilbahn erklommen und oben einen verrückten AIESEC-Tanz getanzt, auf fast 5000 Höhenmetern, umgeben von Wolken unter einer überdimensionalen Marienstatue.
Heilig Abend haben wir uns eines sehr reichlichen, internationalen Festessens erfreut, da unsere Gruppe aus 12 Personen bestand - consisted of 12 people - 1 Venezolaner, 2 US-Americaner, 1 Botswanerin, 1 Nigerianerin, 1 Ecuadorianer, 1 Schotte, 1 Slovake, 2 Argentinier, 1 Türke und 1 Deutsche (ich).
ich habe irgendwie nicht so recht in Weihnachtsstimmung kommen wollen, aber es war schön diese Tage zusammen mit anderen Jungen Menschen, die fern der Heimat sind, zu verbringen...

Silvester sind wir an den Strand umgezogen, Cayo Sombrero, ein Ort in der Nähe von dm Strand, wo ich mein erstes Wochenende in Venezuela verbracht hatte, und vergleichbar schön!!! Diesmal haben wir uns ein Haus gemietet, wo wir mit 12 Personen untergekommen sind! Ein großer raum in der Mitte und 4 Schlafzimmer und 2 Badezimmer an den Außenseiten... Diese Häuser sind wirklich nur dazu gebaut um dort unterzukommen, wenn man das Wochenende am Strand verbringen will!! Aber mehr brauchten wir ja auch garnicht, also perfekt!! Der Kühlschrank bis zum Rand gefüllt mit Smirnof Ice, Rum, Beer und anderer Flüssignahrung, so dass es eine echte herausforderung wurde, dass alles zu konsumieren, innerhalb von 2 Tagen - aber natürlich haben wir es geschafft ;o)

Während einige aus unserer Gruppe noch zu einem anderen Strand gefahren sind um dort die ersten Tage des neuen Jahres zu verbringen, bin ich zurück nach Caracas gefahren, um dort alles zu ordnen, bevor ich wieder arbeiten musste... Die Schule ging wieder los und meine AIESEC-Arbeit ging auch weiter, beides mit viel abeit! Prüfungen zu schreiben und eine Konferenz vorzubereiten, die wir auf Grund d Wahlen vom Dezember in den januar verschoben hatten.

Das nächste größere Event war Karneval... aber hier nicht großartiges!! Alle sind an die Strände gerannt, wo es beinahe unmöglich war einen Platz für die Zelte zu finden...

So, jetzt reicht es erst mal!!!
Ich habe noch eine Woche in Venezuela und werde versuchen noch einen Eintrag zu schrieben, bevor ich abreise!

Eine feste Umarmung von mir, und bis bald irgendwo in der Welt!
Antje



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



23rd July 2007

Antje! Am so happy to read through your adventures in Venezuela:) So many times in a year I was thinking: Hmm, how is she going on in Venezuela and now I know:) Wahnsinn! Almost a year passed by since we saw each other in Sumeet night before you left Moscow. Hope to see you once again;) Hugs Masha

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb