Cusco to Guayaquil


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
September 27th 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cusco to Guayaquil

Cusco -> Nasca -> Ica -> Pisco -> Lima -> Trujillo -> Chiclayo -> Mancora -> Machala -> Cuenca -> Guayaquil

NascaNascaNasca

Chauchilla cemetery. This is how the Nasca culture used to bury its dead
My root from Cusco to Guayaquil was a long one, but since I didn't spend much time in any place on the way, I've decided to cluster all the photos together.

The first stop on the way was Nasca, famous of course for its lines.
I've decided to go just to the observation tower from which you can see only 2 figures, which were enormous.
I skipped the flight over those lines, as I saw all the twists and turns those small airplanes do over the lines, and the green looking tourists escaping from them.
I've also visited the Nasca cemetery near by, where you can see some open graves, thanks to the grave looters, and the restored mummies of this fascinating culture.

Next stop was Ica and specifically the Huacachina neighborhood of it, where I've enjoyed sand skiing.
From Ica I've visited as well Islas Ballestas near Pisco, which are also called 'The Galapagos for the poor', as you can see on those islands allot of birds, penguins and sea lions. But to tell you the truth, it was a bit disappointing as it took us almost an hour to get there and another hour to return, after
NascaNascaNasca

Chauchilla cemetery. This is how the Nasca culture used to bury its dead
we'd spent there only 20 minutes.

From Ica I continued north to Lima, and was surprised to find that some parts of it, like the Miraflores neighborhood represent a nice and modern city, in contrast to the many stories I've heard about it from other travelers.
What was disappointing for me in Lima was the night life, but I guess I simply didn't know where to look...

The next stop was Trujillo, which was all about archeology. After visiting Machu Picchu it was much less impressive for me, yet interesting as you could see the work of some of the cultures that have led to the Inca culture.

Then north to Trujillo I've visited Chiclallo, which boosts the awesome Lord of Sipan museum, that includes golden works of the Sipan pre Inca culture, found in the tombs in the area.
Unfortunately it was forbidden to take pictures in that museum.

My next and last stop in Peru was Mancora, which is a really nice beach resort and has excellent sea food. I just relaxed there for a couple of days.

Afterwords I crossed the border to Ecuador and arrived to the nice colonial city of
NascaNascaNasca

Chauchilla cemetery. This is how the Nasca culture used to bury its dead
Cuenca.
There I visited Park National Cajas that has allot, but I mean allot of different Lagoons, and the Ingapirca Inca ruins, which were the second most interesting archaeological site I've visited, after Machu Picchu.

At last I've arrived to Guayaquil, the biggest city of Ecuador, with some really modern parts like the Malecon 2000 promenade which is really a peace of art on Guayaquils' river front.


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

NascaNasca
Nasca

This is how you can fake original ceramics
NascaNasca
Nasca

A fossil
Islas BallestasIslas Ballestas
Islas Ballestas

Probably Nasca lines as well, at a different location
IcaIca
Ica

The dunes


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 90; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb