Pre-trip nerves and injuries


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
May 26th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We are off to Peru on Monday, with the highlight for me being the Inca Trail. This is something I've wanted to do for years and is kinda the last thing on my bucket list - well, for the time being until I can think of more places I want to go anyway. I've spent the last two months worrying about my lack of fitness and whether I will forget something essential, so I have been reading blogs and forums galore.

As it's safe to say that my only normal form of exercise is exercising my eyes to watch TV, I have been TRYING to get at least slightly fit by going down the gym and taking part in classes and gym sessions. Within the last couple of months, we have also been trying to get our muscles used to walking uphill by going for walks around the Cotswold Hills. We decided to go up Snowdon a couple of weeks ago and I could only waddle, not walk for three or four days after, so to say I'm slightly apprehensive about the Inca Trail is a pretty accurate statement.

I can't say that my gym sessions really helped as I kept on getting the lurgy and had a couple of injuries, so I don't feel any fitter. But I went for an early morning 10 mile walk this morning and despite getting a few blisters due to my stupid choice to wear sandals in the hope that it would avoid a ridiculous looking tan line, I'm feeling more positive and ready to face the challenge ahead.

Two days till we leave - I can't wait!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb