Peru - Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
January 26th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My flight landed in Cusco at 10.30am on Tuesday 26 January and I was picked up at the airport and taken to my hotel (Monte Horeb Hospedaje). It was then that I found out that there had been serious flooding in the nearby areas and so Macchu Pichu and the Inca Trail were closed and inaccessible. Other tours of nearby sights and Inca ruins were also cancelled due to the recent heavy rains. I went for a walk around the town for a couple of hours before going for lunch in an Indian restaurant. Then I spent the afternoon in my cold room catching up with some sleep. I spent the evening watching sport on TV and reading. After my hotel breakfast on Wednesday, I went to an internet café where I spent a couple of hours sorting out my photos. Then I grabbed some lunch and took it back to my room where I watched the Man Utd Vs Man City league cup semi final. The rest of the day was spent back at the internet shop updating my iPod with music. I picked up a fruit smoothie and a chicken sandwich for dinner and went back to my room for the rest of the evening. After breakfast on Thursday I walked around the town taking pictures and then went for lunch at The Real McCoy where they serve traditional English food. I had a nice chicken and bacon pie with roast potatoes, carrots and broccoli. Then I walked around some more in the sunshine and went to the bus station to book my ticket for Arequipa but unfortunately the next bus was not until Saturday night. The evening was spent in my room watching the semi final of the men’s Australian Open tennis. After breakfast on Friday I walked around the town to try and find a new pair of trainers. I eventually found a comfortable pair of Skechers that were not fake so they should last me for the remainder of my travels. Then I went for lunch at the Indian restaurant where I had a delicious Butter Chicken. Another couple of hours were spent on the internet and then I returned to my room for the evening where I ordered pizza for dinner and watched basketball. I had to check out at 9.30am on Saturday and after walking around for a bit, I decided to go on the internet for a couple of hours. Then I went for lunch at Paddy's Bar who claim to be the highest Irish owned bar in the world. I had a nice lunch of chicken and stuffing with all the trimmings and that was washed down with a beer while watching Liverpool beat Bolton 2-0. The rest of the afternoon was spent back at the internet shop adding all the new music that I had bought in Bolivia to my iPod. I went back to the Real McCoy for dinner and then returned to my hotel at 8pm to collect my bag and take a taxi to the bus station. My bus departed for Arequipa at 8.30pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Paddy's PubPaddy's Pub
Paddy's Pub

Highest Irish owned pub in the world.


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb