More sea lions and Boobies!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru
November 14th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

An early start this morning to catch a boat to the Ballestas Islands where more sea lions lurked. We caught a speedboat across and it was one of the bumpiest boat trips I have been on that at times we were hanging on for our lives!!

When getting closer to the island all we could see was a black mass of something........as we got nearer we realised that it was the sheer number of Nazca Boobies all congregated together on the island. There were thousands of them.. that Steve and I both decided to put our hoods up in fear of being shat on! We also saw more lazy sea lions lying on the rocks and few other species of birds - all very interesting but not quite compariable to the Galapagos.

After a tea stop we drove off again in search of a small oasis in the middle of the desert where we could sand board. It has to be said I was a little apprehensive as I did not really know what to expect but it turned out to be one of the best activities I have done. We were taken up onto the sand in dune buggies that the guy drove like we were on a rollercoaster - it was so much fun but I think Steve lost his hearing due to all the other girls screaming at the back!! Every now and again we stopped to sand board down some of the sand dunes. The first 3 that we did were fairly tame in comparison to the end ones but I was screaming already and ended up with a mouthful of sand at the bottom! Whe I saw the last 2 dunes I thought the guy was joking as they were bl***y massive with a very steep descent but no he was deadly serious and despite my nerves I loved it! When we returned to concrete we were greeted to a BBQ and cocktail before making our journey to Nazca.

We arrived in Nazca quite late that we had to put our tents up in the dark but we had had enough experience by then that it was up in no time! That evening one of the other truck groups invited to join them for a party so I went off and left Steve behind to play backgammon and ribics cube with the lads - what exciting lives they lead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb