Huanchaco/Trujillo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Trujillo
November 12th 2011
Published: November 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Trujillo was a very stark contrast to Huaraz....very barren and almost desert like! Situated on the coast I intended to have a few rest days following all the hiking I had just done. I had been recommended a hostel to stay in outside Trujillo in Huanchaco. Once a small fishing village, now a surfers hang out.
I´d heard a rumour that the Canadian boys from Ecuador were heading this way imminently so upon their arrival we met up and checked out some of the local ruins nearby.
Chan Chan dates back to about 1300AD and is a vast area of crumbling walls that use to form about 10,000 structures and was the Chimu capital. I think we would have appreciated this more by viewing it from the air...never the less it was still spectacular to walk around and learn about the Chimu civilization.
The next archeological site that we visited was Las Huacas del Sol y de la Luna. These are Moche temples and are 700 years older than Chan Chan. Huanca del sol was built of 140 million adobe bricks....but is now covered in sand...and due to lack of money is yet to be excavated. Huaca de la
The Beach at sunsetThe Beach at sunsetThe Beach at sunset

With the fishermans boats resting up
luna has partly been excavated to reveal that it is actually 5 temples, one built over the top of the other repeatedly. There are many artifacts here that are still in one piece including some of the carvings and paintings on the walls.
Whilst out and about we stopped by Trujillo old town centre for some pictures and food. It is easy to notice the Spanish influence in the Plaza de Armas and the surrounding buildings and is a very colourful sight.
The Canadian guys then departed Trujillo for Lima so for the next couple of days I thought I would challenge myself to learn a new skill….surfing! For 25s (apprx £4.5) you got a one on one 2hr lesson on the waves! So off I went! Upon getting into my wetsuit (the third time this trip ive had to put one on now!) I would lie if I said I wasn’t a bit apprehensive, but I seemed to have a nice instructor (Christopher) who spoke sooooome English…..so intently I followed his instructions and before I knew it off we were to the water and there I was standing up riding in on the ways! Admittedly I think they were quite calm waves, but that’s all I wanted and I was loving it! All in all I had 3 lessons with the final lesson venturing onto the bigger waves, which I did not enjoy as much, but it was a great experience at a bargain price!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Huaca La LunaHuaca La Luna
Huaca La Luna

This shows two different temples, the 4th on the upper floor and the 3rd on the lower floor
The Front of Huaca La LunaThe Front of Huaca La Luna
The Front of Huaca La Luna

This is the orginal front of the temple....displaying temple number 5... the hole is where theives broke in to loot the temple
Warning signs in HuanchacoWarning signs in Huanchaco
Warning signs in Huanchaco

Again there were signs telling us which way to run!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb