Deluxe shower


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Trujillo
September 6th 2011
Published: September 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

First contactFirst contactFirst contact

Outer wall of Kuélap
Jeez, talking about a writers block...

Ok, by chance really, I found out about this amazing historical site in the northern mountainous region of Peru.
And again I had no clue that there were some equally cool waterfalls nearby and another cool site on top of that!
So yes, I was a bit happy that the trip to Chachapoyas was more than worth it after all.
Besides most of it being a total surprise, my four days there were pretty standard, which was a welcome change of pace after the previous week.
As every road in the area, besides the one access road I came by, were dirt-roads I opted to go with organised trips instead of putting my bike(and me) trough any more hardship...

The first day took us to the great fortified city of Kuélap.
Built and inhabited by the ancient Chachapoyas(an indian tribe much like the Incas) it once was one of the best defend-able places of the world.
But as it was fully dependable upon the lower valleys when it came to water and food supply it didn't take the Incas very long to figure out how they could cease it.
The Incas weren't able to keep the city very long though as the Spanish were on the way …

Second day I went to the Sarcofagos de Carajia, which were a cool one-of-a-kind kind of thing.
They were basically sarcophagi standing on an edge in the middle of a cliff... it's easier to just look at the picture, I don't know how to explain this any more clearly :x
That day we also went to a cavern... with bats(getting closer to finding Bruce Wayne, I can just feel it).

Third day we went on a hike that took us to one of the worlds highest waterfalls, the Gocta-falls.
At 771m in hight I thought them to be pretty impressive indeed.
The hike to the bottom of the falls was on itself already worth it, the fact that you had a prime view of the falls most of the time just added to the value.
On the way back the guide, one lady of our group and myself fell behind the rest of the group because, well, we were having a lot of fun 😊
Finding wild fruits to eat, encountering a place where they were making sweetener out of sugar-canes,a place where they were making mud-bricks(they build most of the houses in rural areas out of these kind of bricks) etc...

The fourth day I rested.

On the fifth and sixth day I drove to Huanchaco pretty much.

And on the seventh day … he surfed :D
Yeee I figured I could not stay this cool without knowing how to surf.. right?
As it turns out its a lot harder than it looks.
I thought it wouldn't be too hard as I skateboarded and snowboarded before and it kind of looks the same, you know... one board, put your feet on it and go.
But it isn't that simple, as putting your feet on it is the actual hard part.
Basically surfing went something like this for me today: waiting for a wave – peddling to get on top of a wave – hopping up – falling off – getting back on the board – peddling back – waiting for a wave ...
After about two hours I got to the point that I could actually stand up for just a really short time, but not really enough to call surfing... so I will have to try again tomorrow :D

So yes as you can see travelling is still an absolute drag and I hate it :'D

Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

From left to right;From left to right;
From left to right;

Benny, Marco, Giuseppe, Fernand and X'aqcuec.
Surfers breakfastSurfers breakfast
Surfers breakfast

Seriously one of the best breakfast i've ever had.


7th September 2011

Although we cannot find any proof (no pictures) that you have been standing on a surfing board for a second, I believe you when you are suggesting that you were pretty close to it. I am inclined to believe that there wasn\'t a lack of skill on your side, but that the weather circumstances(heavy seas), were awful and that the surfing board was very slippery. I wish you more luck next time.Don\'t give up my friend. It would be a big win, next to others, if you could return as an experienced surfer. Another Beach Boy is born. Girls are found of those muscled surfers, who succeed in staying on their slippery surfing boards for more than one second, notwithstanding the awful weather conditions. Reasons enough to continue your efforts aiming at becoming a surfer hero. Nice pictures showing us part of what you are discovering. Everybody is served: those who like the wild nature, those who like history, those who like the \"pasatiempo\" of the local people, those who like a more than tasteful breakfast. Meanwhile your motorbike is doing well, I assume. The counter is showing already 5.430 km. Not bad I would say. Your dad is far behind you if he looks at his counter, I suppose. And what about the good vibes. Are you still feeling them now and then ? Or are you to create them yourself ? And about that the \" Deluxe shower\". After having taken your bath, don\'t forget to turn off the crane. Carry on with your mission and keep us posted amigo. Stay safe Peter.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb