First week in Trujillo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Trujillo
November 25th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve now been in Trujillo for a little over a week. Not many photos yet, but I´ll add some later....

To get here, I took a 10 hour bus trip up the coast. I slept some, but mostly what I saw while awake was desert and occasional coastline... lots of desert.

I got here in the evening at met the other volunteers at the BrucePeru organization. Mostly English people currently, but others from Ireland, Austrailia, and, until recently, two others from the states. The weekend was laid back, I walked around the city a bit. Very little trees in the city streets. I appreciate the trees, grass, etc. added to the streets and sidewalks in the states more now. The main Plaza De Armas is well designed, with grass in the trees in the middle. It feels much more open than the majority of other streets.

Another characteristic of the city worth noting is the behavior of the cab drivers. The streets are filled with a constant cacaphony of taxi horns. They use them to tell people they are available for a fare, complain to other drivers to move, and to announce they´ve sneezed, or the song on the radio changed, or that its Tuesday.

The first week with the kids was not easy, but I´m getting used to it. More on this later...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb