Puno Peru - Food Poisoning on Lake Titicaca!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno
October 13th 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Puno on Friday 13th...unlucky for some....so unlucky for me as it goes....Someone up there is testing my patient and I am about to break!!

Not really impressed with Puno, the town/city doesn't stand out, the people are nice but tbh I cant wait to get out of here, we are travelling with Brian (Tip) and Marie (Cork) who we met on the Inca Trek and we have takin a 2 day one night tour to the Uros Islands on Lake Titicaca to see how they live...it´s pretty cool actually these people live on Lake Titicaca on the reeds...they have made their whole life from the reeds,built houses, restaurants, schools, on them etc..when we went by boat to visit they have little reed restaurants...even a floating church!!


That evening we went to the actual Island and stayed with a local family, see pics below.....we didn't have hardly any interaction with them as we had no Spanish, our rooms were nice and we stayed in out houses to theirs, the houses are made of mud bricks, pretty cool, they gave us lunch and dinner, all vegetarian so we thought that must be ok to eat, that night they dressed us up in their native dress....sooo sexy!! and we went to the local disco where we were asked out to dance by all the locals...very interesting...

Next day we left for another Island but I wasn´t feeling well and stayed on the boat, and by the time we got back to the hotel I was burning up with a fever and shaking with the cold, vomiting, Dihorea!! etc etc..the doctor came out and couldn´t really tell me what was wrong so gave me an injection.. as he said into the leg which was really my glutes, and if you have ever had an injection into the glutes then you will know what Im talking about, it had me rolling on the bed in spasm for 10 minutes, this was apparently to stop the fever which it did but the next day I was still very sick, I couldn´t keep the antibiotics and other meds down so nothing seemed to be woring. Also had to move rooms as we were in a room with out a bathroom!!! Thoughts of me being on the way out where crossing my mind! (NO exaggeration!!!)



Had to call the doctor again...as I was still vomiting along with everything else... he gave me another injection which was intravenos which sent me floating around the room for a few hours what ever it was, but it seemed to work, so I suffered for 4 days with some kind of bacteria that was in the food that the family gave us and we stupidly ate (even to look at them we should have went with our gut instinct and starved...) since then I´ve made a full recovery & brought myself up to budget as I hadn't eaten in days and blood tests came back ok.....Ive heard loads of stories of people coming off the Island being very sick and really the LP should have a caution on it or a tip to bring your own food!!

Next stop La Paz Bolivia....


More pictures of puno-click on slide show


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Family we stayed with on on the Island that we stayed on Lake Titicaca...that nearly killed me!
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Morto!! we had to dress up in their native dress to go to the disco!!
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

boat made of reeds..takes 2 months..1000 plastic bottles and lasts 2 years
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

The Mud house we stayed in - court yard
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

The Mud house we stayed in
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Our room which was so nice
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Woman grinding wheat
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Woman grinding wheat
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Reeds on Lake
Puno PeruPuno Peru
Puno Peru

Reeds on Lake


21st October 2006

Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds!
Hi girls, the comment title refers to LSD hallucinogenic drug which sounds like what you got injected with! ha ha. Anyway, Titicaca sounds wonderful! maybe you had malaria? Love your outfits. Ye look like Mother Teresa! x Charlie
24th October 2006

Hi B !!
I love the photos !! It will take you weeks to compile your album when you get home? If you ever come home that is!! I had to do a double take on the 2 peruvian ladies in the snap - you guys really fit the part ! I'm glad you've doing well and thanks for the entertainment ! By the way, Maureen had another baby boy last friday - Owen ! Talk soon. AM

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 18; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb