Dirty (not the Christina Aguilera type)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
August 26th 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It finally happened, I couldnĀ“t wear my clothes another day. They are just too dirty. For those of you not familiar with my packing strategy for a 4.5 month trip, I brought:

1) 3 pair of underwear
2) 2 pairs of pants
3) 2 t-shirts
4) 2 long sleeve shirts
5) 1 pair of socks (though I eventually did buy another pair) and
6) 1 pair of mandles (as Kelly likes to call them)

After about two weeks of traveling, including two nights of camping in tents and one night of staying with a local family, my clothes are too dirty to wear. Now, before you get too grossed out that I have been going for two weeks and only packed three pairs of underwear, I did some sink cleaning in our hostels, but that only takes you so far. So today we dropped off pretty much all of our clothes at a local laundry. They promised they would have them ready by 9am tomorrow, for about $1.50 per kilo (we got robbed, the local rate is $0.33 per kilo). I am a little afraid that this cleaner will be like the one I go to in DC, which is like a clothing swap. In DC, this is usually okay, I might trade in my Banana Republic shirt and get a Brooks Brothers one back. Most guys are a large, so the sizes generally match and it turns out to be a great way of expanding your wardrobe. In Puno, however, who knows what may come back, I may have just traded travel underwear for a scarf made of llama, or my travel pants for a colorful poncho (which may be a fair trade, except that I average a foot taller than most of the guys here, do ponchos have sizes?)

-- Steve

Advertisement



26th August 2008

3 pairs of underwear? You suddenly made Matt a lot classier.
26th August 2008

Pictures!
Steve in wool socks, mandles, a wool hat and a poncho? The world needs to see this. Can you post pics on this thing? Safe travels!
26th August 2008

DLiP
There is nothing like airing your dirty laundry in public. Ya, but are you making any (new) friends?

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb