peru part 2


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
July 20th 2007
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

July 12
We have had so much down time here, I hardly know what to do with myself. I guess I could, I don't know, finish up the work for this class, but I'd much rather watch chickens run around or sit by a fire and talk or play with Pablito, the cutest kitten in the Andes. Yesterday we helped cook quinoa with milk, potatoes, and bread; today we tried to learn how to weave, but like most things here, we were hopeless. Amy told us a story of how her family told her to make a fire out of cow patties this morning, and when she asked them how, they said, "Oh, you know", and waved a dismissive hand. We are all pretty amazed at how much they know about the land and the resources we take for granted, and also a bit ashamed of ourselves too for not understanding. I am definitely getting to the disgusting side of dirty; I smell like smoke and sunscreen and hand sanitizer, and I am constantly wearing a hat to cover my hair. And after only three days, I already dream of ice cream, pasta, and hot, fresh coffee, all virtually unheard of here. I feel ashamed of myself for this and for many more of my supposed "needs" of western society, and I feel especially ashamed knowing that I could never, ever live this life. I guess I need a toothbrush and a toilet to pee in, I don't know. And at least a brief brush with the outside world. My time here has really made me think of what I value, and a lot of what I value is so materialistic. I wish there was some way I could balance my American life with this life, not take everything for granted or feel bratty if I can't shower for a week. I will have to think on that, and decide how to fit this experience into my life.

July 16

I'm waiting to board my plane to Denver and then to Minneapolis, so I'm back in the States. Insanity was my last few days in Peru. All of us were trying to put together all the crazy awesome things we've seen in the past six weeks, finish our coursework, and say good-bye. We had to say good-bye to our Quito family, the program director and her children who have been with us the whole time, our professor, and each other. I hate saying good-bye in any context, but this was especially hard because I really have no idea if I will ever see these people again and that really bothers me. We all make promises to write and visit when we are in any and all cities imaginable, from Boston to Long Beach, but it still kills me to think ow may never spend time with these people again, and even if I do, it won't be the same. As well as academic knowledge, I'm taking a lot of personal knowledge from this experience. I don't think I want to tirelessly work for a cause my whole life, because there are too many things I believed in to pick just one. I just want to be active in what I believe, be good to people and treat them with all the respect they deserve, and be happy with myself. I'm not saying I accomplished these goals completely on this trip, but I definitely realized them more. Furthermore, now I know that it is possible to fall in love with a place in only a month, something that I felt was not practical after living in Granada. Quito was definitely the best part of this trip, and someday I'll go back.
But in the meantime, thanks to all of you for reading my blog; I loved hearing from you when I was away and you made me want to keep writing. Peace and love to you all. and I'll see most of you soon!



Advertisement



20th July 2007

Thank you for such great blogs!
Your blog entries have all been fantastic; thanks for doing them! You do such a great job of letting us readers feel that we were there. You also gave us great insights into your inner responses to what you were experiencing. So we could see both "out" and "inward." Thank you for all the stories! I have also experienced extreme simplicity in various places (such as Mexico), and I always come home with a pretty clarified list of my "strong have to have's" -- including hot water delivered by plumbing --- and a newly figured out list of "don't needs" -- such as TV or new clothes. Throughout your life, it all makes a difference! You become more appreciative of certain things, and also more tolerant of hardships whenever they appear in your life. (For example, once the kids and I were without electricity for about a week after a big storm in 1998 in our Richfield house. I figured out how to make do and didn't feel deprived at all! Rather, I felt resourceful. But when the electricity came back on, I was sure glad to have it again. Still, to this day, I can do without air conditioning any day, as I think you know! Anyway, these were very special blogs! Thanks again. Even though you'll never see those people again in this life, perhaps, their voices and spirits will always be part of your conciousness! Just like teachers from elementary school or something similar. I agree with you, though, I hate goodbyes, and usually refuse to even say the word when it's time to say it.
20th July 2007

My last comment
I hope all those random thoughts made sense!
21st July 2007

More
Lauren- I am sure that many of us will want to hear more about your experiences in Peru, as you begin to digest your time there. Your writings are so much fun to read because they are so personal and reflective. I say keep writing this blog for a bit longer! Mom
23rd July 2007

Well, I don't think there is much you should be ashamed of. This is how I look at it, this is how we were raised here in America, there it is different. The best we can do is realize how lucky we are and try to help those who aren't as lucky. What is great is you can realize the different lifestyles and feel grateful for the things you have, which some people cannot do. And I do not think there is anything to be ashamed about wanting material things, and things like running water, etc. I would pick that life over any other, but I'm not ashamed of it. Because you and I recognize that we have things to offer because of the lifestyles we lead. This sounds more like a lecture. Haha, I'm not trying. I swear. Fighting for causes is great, and that is what makes you and people who recognize that better people!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 46; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb