Sunday morning notes


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos » Amazon Rainforest
June 14th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Loudest Macaw in the JungleLoudest Macaw in the JungleLoudest Macaw in the Jungle

This guy has been wearing us out. Guess he may not actually be the loudest, but he certainly is working hard to gain the title!
It’s early Sunday morning in the rainforest. It’s about 6:50 in the morning as I write and it looks like a beautiful day ahead. The last two have been pretty overcast and a little wet, but that has also kept us cloaked in unseasonably cool temperatures. Sleeping has been easy the last 2 nights. I’m curious to see what today will bring, though I can take a little discomfort for another day and a half.

I’m awfully curious to see how the video will come out. It’s frustrating not to be able to do some editing or even look at it on a bigger monitor, but I’ll be able to hook up to the TV in my hotel room once I return to Iquitos tomorrow.

Soon we’ll be served breakfast - the menu say scrambled eggs and French toast so it should be pretty good today. (Yesterday’s omelet was cold and not very tasty.) Keeping busy all the time does build up an appetite and eating good food (without the between meal snacks we Americans are used to) has to be good for my health.

Today the plan is to visit some villages and see the life of the people who live along the river. Though the other things have been a lot of fun, this is my primary reason for visiting the lodge. I want to document the life of the riberenos whose lives revolve around the river.

Already, even at this hour, the lodge is bustling with activity. Workers in the kitchen prepare breakfast. One man is taking clean glasses to set next to the purified drinking water containers sent out all over the lodge. I heard the sound of a gas grass trimmer in another part of the lodge earlier this morning. It’s an early morning hive of activity with the sounds of work broken only the incessant cries of a macaw sitting in a tree outside the dining room.

I could even hear the sounds of work going on in the Yagua village a few hundred meters away. Last night was Saturday and the villagers had a party (that I would love to have gone to) with loud music playing and undoubtedly lots of dancing until late into the night.

I just had breakfast with the local doctor who came here for a visit from the U.S. back in 1990 and decided to stay. Hopefully, I'll get to visit her clinic nearby tomorrow.

We're leaving in about 20 minutes so I'd better get off the computer and get my things ready. Segundo tells me we're going to visit the Yagua village where he was born this morning then walk through the jungle to another village to the north in the afternoon. This should be a great day.

Advertisement



17th June 2009

Beautiful
The macaw is beautiful!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb