What I LOVE about Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » San Isidro
October 14th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sweet SunlightSweet SunlightSweet Sunlight

Along the beach, circa my house.
My life is starting to really settle down now; I have my daily routines, I can navigate around my house in the dark, and I am starting to recognize overplayed songs on the radio. I have moved onto the second level of my Spanish courses and am able to have basic conversations pretty easily.

Besides the daily routine (which normally includes some sort of stomach pain; my stomach isn't a big fan of the Peruvian bacteria), I have gone to see a friend in a play (Bodas de Sangre), maybe half of which I understood, taken a trip to the Lima Zoo (nothing to brag about, but it was a fun afternoon), started volunteering at the largest orphanage in Lima (with the cutest kids ever), danced the night away at discotecas, headed into the mountains for a day of relaxation with my host family, and had my first experience with the post office (it is a huge headache to both send and receive packages).

Lima is not really a great city for tourists, but is FANTASTIC to live in. I will encourage anyone I can to spend some time living in Lima. The following is a brief list of
Las flores de CantutaLas flores de CantutaLas flores de Cantuta

Flowers at Cantuta; a resort-like club that my host family took me to one Sunday.
what makes Lima so attractive:

1. Public transportation is cheap, ubiquitous, exciting (you have to hold on for dear life every time), and will drop you off as close to your front door as they can on their route.

2. The food is fantastic. Peruvian food itself is delicious (I could go on for days about it) and in Lima there are some of the best restaurants in the world. And nothing is ridiculously priced!

3. At a restaurant, no one ever pushes you out the door. In fact, the check will only be brought to your table when you ask for it, so you can sit back and enjoy your friends company for hours without getting dirty looks from your server or people waiting for a table.

4. Everything delivers. Fast food places, cafes, restaurants, and even pharmacies! It's the most ingenious idea to have medicine delivered because if ever there is a time you don't need to or want to leave the house it is when you are sick.

5. Housekeepers are ubiquitous, so you never have to clean or cook. I actually enjoy cooking, but Maxie, our amazing motherly housekeeper, is a
Cantuta PanoramicCantuta PanoramicCantuta Panoramic

The first sun I'd seen in over a month.. and with stunning mountains as the backdrop!
GREAT cook.

6. Cafes are everywhere and desserts here are delicious. Alfajores (peruvian cookie, it's manjar (caramelized, creamy stuff) sandwiched between two soft shortbread cookies), helado (ice cream), pastries with chantilly cream, mmmmmm

7. Convenience is extreme. Not only are tons of shops, grocery stores, etc within walking distance but there is normally at least one convenience stand (on the road, has lots of snacks, drinks, desserts) on every block. Also, there are people at most intersections selling cookies, crackers, and the like.

8. You BARGAIN with taxi drivers. You chat for a little while and decide on a price before entering the taxi. It's okay to say no or to negotiate to knock a sol or two off. This also means there is no incentive to take a slow or traffic-y route home, so service is normally super efficient.

9. Almost all bars and night clubs have an area to dance. Also, Peruvians dance mostly in pairs, but the style of dance is much more like that pre-80s style in the US (i.e. dancers face each other and hold hands and waist, not bump and grind) so it is much easier to dance with new acquaintances (less pressure to be overtly sexual, thank goodness).

10. Lima is on the Pacific Ocean, but within a few hours you can be in the hiking in the mountains, driving into the jungle, or hanging out on a super posh beach. Peru is SO geographically diverse; it's a outdoor dreamland!

... I'll save some for another day. Moral of this entry: COME VISIT me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Sun!Sun!
Sun!

Sunset on the way home from Cantuta. I miss the sun, sigh.
GrrrrrGrrrrr
Grrrrr

Our group impersonating zoo animals.
LagoooonLagoooon
Lagoooon

Probably the prettiest part of the zoo.
Lovely LadiesLovely Ladies
Lovely Ladies

Some UVa and some Peruvian friends
Ruin-edRuin-ed
Ruin-ed

Ruins are EVERYWHERE around Lima. In the middle of apartment complexes, in the middle of campus, in the middle of the zoo. It's crazy to see; most of the ruins are much older than our country.
Tap-what?Tap-what?
Tap-what?

Tapir; an animal sacred to many people in the Amazon. I thought it was the weirdest looking animal I'd ever seen.
La PuntaLa Punta
La Punta

The Pacific and the peninsula, La Punta, in the distance.
ParqueParque
Parque

A park along the beach, maybe 4 blocks from my house


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb