South America Day 60 - San Isidro


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » San Isidro
March 9th 2019
Published: March 9th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I have an interrupted night’s sleep due to:
3 am – texts from daughter number two.
4 am – the old man leaves for an 18 hour coach/boat trip. I have spent enough time on a bus recently so opt out.
5 am – the fire alarm goes off. I go to the foyer in my pyjamas, only to be told not to worry, it’s just someone smoking in bed.

It’s our last day in Peru with its stinking beaches and salty food. I can see why Paddington (a) wanted out and (b) stuck to marmalade sandwiches. After a few more hours sleep, I get up, have breakfast (jam sandwiches) and set off down the Malecon in the opposite direction to yesterday.

First stop, the Lugar de la Memoria (full title – Place of Memory, Tolerance and Social Inclusion) a museum dedicated to the victims of terrorism in Peru during 1980-2000. It’s interesting, but the language is very political and somewhat beyond someone who has only had 20 Spanish lessons.

I walk on through the pleasant suburb of San Isidro with its beautifully manicured gardens until I reach the end of the Malecon, then I find a bakery, buy empanadas and return to the hotel to pack for tomorrow’s flight to Quito.
















Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb