Traveling Stinks like Feet


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 3rd 2016
Published: January 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post

It is my first night here. I’m staying at the Kokopelli hostel. Minus the heavy smell of feet and the drunkards right outside the window, who find it necessary to scream in unison every single time they take a swig, its pretty alright. I think I’m starting to feel a little queasy from the altitude, but maybe its all in my head. Actually…it is all in my head because we definitely passed ocean to get to this hostel. It was smart on my end to arrange airport pickup and drop off from hostel. I would have been too exhausted to find other means of transportation. My flight arrival was an hour delayed, so I was greeted by a bunch of eye-rolls from the driver. Just got here and I’m already making friends, yay!



It might be because I just arrived or because my parents scared the crap out of me for coming here, but I feel I’ve been a tad more introverted than my usual flamingly extroverted self. I think I’ve been programmed to be wary of everyone. I guess it is a good thing. I better not get fucking robbed.



18 more days till I get to see Jon!



I’m so happy I brought my polaroid camera. Those things are so cool! I’m watching that thing like a hawk though. I’ll be devastated if I lose it or it gets taken. By the end of the year, I will have 365 rare amazing images of gratitude.



To get to Kokopelli Hostel, we drove through what looked like the deep ghetto. Although at first I didn’t if thats just how Lima was. It's not, thank God. Growing up in Jupiter, Florida and living in Culver City, California I am pretty fucking spoiled. If you had to ask my bitchy, bratty American white girl self, even the nice parts of Lima are a ‘downgrade.’ But stop asking her questions, we don’t like her flavor. Room is good, sharing with 11 strangers, only two of which are sleeping in the beds.



Going to bed soon. I can’t Facebook for too long either because I would get the room with the European chargers. Besides, that is one habit I desperately need to break: Facebooking before bed. Ugh…the worst, scrolling through Facebook for hours trying to convince yourself you’re not actually tired. Like bitch, get to bed! You have complementary Hostel breakfast tomorrow you have to get to!





I miss Turtle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb