First stop - Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
September 12th 2014
Published: September 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Lima to Paracas


After two years of saving and six months of planning here I am - on my one year adventure around South America, China and India!

We (me and my partner Alex) decided to start in Peru, Lima. At that time it made sense! But as every backpacker knows plans and routes change.
So on 15th of March 2014 we landed in Lima airport. First impression of Lima - gritty and noisy! We traveled by taxi to our hostel in Miraflores neighbourhood. We booked double room as it was near my birthday and we knew that most of our journey we will sleep in crowd dormitories. As we arrived early we needed to wait couple hours for room to be ready. We sat in the garden patio and chat with other backpackers. I felt overwhelmed as they were giving so many tips where to go in Peru. We were just saying: "Yeah that's sound cool! We may visit!". To be honest we didn't know where we will go after Lima!
After settling down in the room we went for a wander. It was hot and sunny! Miraflores part looked like any other big city and to my surprise there were a lot of light skinned habitants. Thought this is probably not a real Peru!
Next day - my birthday - we went to Barranco, a charming little district for a bite to eat. From other guy from the hostel we heard that restaurant La Canta Rana serves the best ceviche in Lima! And I would add, the best in Peru! As told by him, queue was very long but my gosh it was worth a wait! I would never think that I will enjoy a raw fish in lime juice, onions and spices. But I did so much!
We finished my birthday on the Playa Costa Verde. Nothing spectacular but still nice. Water was cold tho!
Next day we made out first trip on one of Lima's mini buses. The guy in the hostel said that it is a bit dangerous and drivers drive like they don't fear death! True about the second but we felt pretty safe.
So we practiced our Spanish and tried to get to Pachacamac - Inca site, 45 minutes outside the town. The archaeological complex was quite impressive but it looked like there is still so much to discover over there.
Following day we explored Central Lima. A bit nervous as it supposed to be the most dangerous part! Despite a lot of nice buildings, the centre looked rough. Here for a first time I saw Peruvians dressed in their traditional clothes. Here also realised disparity between rich and poor Peruvians but only further on my journey I noticed how huge the gap is.

I don't think we fully explored Lima but still got a touch of this big modern metropolitan.

Our next destination supposed to be Cuzco but as we found out it is pretty cold and rainy over there! Instead we went to Paracas - beach town, around 5 hours from Lima, to built our tan 😉


Advertisement



14th September 2014

Gap year
Just discovered your blog today. Eager to read about your adventures. Happy travels.
14th September 2014

Thank you guys!! ;)

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb