And they're off.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
June 17th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Made it to Lima in one piece, though the same can't be said for the tire or the car window. The plan was for me to make the 5 hour drive to drop Noa in NJ, then meet up with Jim & Simon at midnight in NYC to head over to our earling morning flight from JFK. Yeah, right. 10 miles out of Medford, my car got a flat. Noa and I enjoyed a scenic hour on the highway shoulder, waiting for Better World Club (the enviro version of AAA). The official first hero of our trip is Mike the tow guy, who changed the flat super fast. Noa and I then made it 12 more miles before dallying for another scenic 1.5 hours, this time in the Natick Mall, while hero #2, Jim from Sears, installed new tires. We avoided any further road mishaps, and thanks to traffic, we officially broke the record for the longest ever Medford/NJ drive, clocking in 11.2 hours after leaving Medford. (The previious record was held by Marc, Jim and the Ospo/Perlsons, who drove 11 hours through the fearsome blizzard of 2000-something for Eli's bar mitzvah.).

I don't think anyone has ever been happer to see the Clearbrook 55 and older community than me and Noa. We unloaded her bags, ran into the house with big smiles, and all was well. For 5 minutes. When I went back to the car to grab another bag, I found it locked. With my keys inside. Which, I must point out, is impossible, since you can't lock it without the keys. The alarm turned itself on, too, just for good measure. I had 1/2 hour to get to my train, so calling upon all my creativity and problem solving mojo, came up with the only solution. Hammer to glass. I raced off to the train (thanks, Mel), leaving behind a cranky daughter, a minivan w/ broken window, a driveway full of glass, and no instructions for how to deal with the car alarm. But I was on my way!

Compared to all that, the rest of the trip to Lima was pretty anticlimactic. Group nap in JFK, Hugo playing on our Costa Rica to Peru leg, and diesel-filled drive through the chaotic streets of Lima. Our hostel is great, and we spent the eve walking around Miraflores and its version of Washington Sq. Park, Kennedy Park. Vendors, artists, an open-air all ages dance jam, and resident cats of every size and stripe. We can't believe we're here, Simon is eating it up & trying out his spanish, Jim is romping around like a puppy. And tomorrow, it's off to the Andes...

Don't forget to check out Simon's version of our trip at:

cynicalperu.tumblr.com

We'll post pics soon.

Love, us.

Advertisement



17th June 2012

Hurrah!
Dramatic start, eh! A great story starts with a great story! I'm along for the ride!
17th June 2012

Glad that you made it!
I wish that I could be with you guys on the trip cause I know that you guys are going to have a great time! Since I can't comment on Simon's blog, I'll incorporate my comments into this one. I know that he thinks that he is going to have two fluent spanish speakers once you join the 'slightly criminally insane' relatives but unfortunately, this is not true. A-they both aren't fluent speaking (not even combined) and B-I think Max will be insulted that he is in the same category as my mother, who may very well be criminally insane (and she wouldn't have paid for the internet either!) I think for Simon and Max it will be a bonding experience for two cousins who have little in common and don't spend much time together. Another interesting thing Simon mentioned on his blog was about landing and seeing the farms and the contrast between the terminal and the shacks nearby. For my brothers and I, this is something that we have seen so often since traveling to DR. I've always known the contrast but accepted it as is since the country is poor. But to hear someone else describe it, I dunno how to explain it, it just penetrated a bit differently. While you guys are away I'm looking forward to hanging out with Noa! Can't wait to read more posts! Have fun!
17th June 2012

Every endeavor is bound to include problems; one just wants them to be over quickly and painlessly. Some people break a crystal glass during their wedding ceremony so that the remainder of their marriage is without mishap. I see you took this concept seriously while smashing your car window. Here’s hoping the rest of your trip is awesome! Take lots of pictures.
17th June 2012

hello
took Noa to the pool she was super super excited when she saw the water. we stayed in for over 2 hours and were totally shriveled when we got out. she seems happy except when she wines for "i want tv" I hate blues clues. I am going to break my tv when she leaves She ate blueberry pancakes at the diner ths am with me and Mel. she is not thrilled with the dog park in fact I bribe her with ice cream when we go. I think Phili is coming tonite to take her for a day or two. She is sleeping great and seems happy. Hope u r having fun love you

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb