sobre mi trabajo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I guess I should preface this entry. I am working for no pay (i.e. soy una voluntaria =P) at a school para los niños con neurological disorders. Sus edades son de 2 a 40 años.

Work is weird. I'm not doing much, and I'm not really sure what's going on. They do pretty interesting physical therapies with the kids. I'm not sure how to describe it other than being very interactive. This kind of therapy would never fly in the US because there would be lawsuits left and right. The most shocking therapy is what I call "la mesa" (the table). They take a kid and put him facedown on a cushioned table. This therapy needs five people to perform it. Each person takes a limb, and there is one person who holds the head. Then we commence to do 155 masunos. Yo no sé que significa pero es como movimientos. Hacemos 155 de estes movimientos para estimular los nervios de los niños. It's especially difficult with the cerebral palsy kids.

There seems to be some sort of hierarchy and organization, but no one has explained it to me. The first day of work, I was given a tour of the school, and then I left. The next two days, I've basically been shadowing one person each day. Tomorrow, the doctor should be coming in. Hopefully he has the patience to explain things to me. The kids are adorable, but I would like to know exactly what disorders they have. I want to know the "por qué" of everything, but I haven't asked because I feel like the language barrier would frustrate the workers. Mañana, voy a tratar preguntando.

Eso es todo sobre mi trabajo, creo. Por lo menos por ahora. Ciao, chicos.

Advertisement



26th June 2008

que es un masano? massage? también, puedo comprender la mayoría del texto. sweet.
11th July 2008

no, massage is masaje. I really don't know what a masuno is. but you know, now that I think about it, they probably are saying "más uno" like "one more"...

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb