Lima Laws and Cuzco Coca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Streets of LimaStreets of LimaStreets of Lima

Ave. Jose Pardo, Miraflores

Landing in Lima



Hey everyone!! I have finally arrived in South America. After my dad left me at the Seattle airport, I had my doubts whether I could actually do this alone, but since landing in Peru my anxiety has been replaced with excitement. After searching for my name among the sea of signs at the airport in Lima, I found my ride to the hotel in Miraflores. I soon learned that the speed laws, the lines on the road, and actually being in a lane are completely irrelevant to the drivers. Just as my heart rate started to reach a max, the driver pulled over infront of a nice little hotel, which was to be home for the next two nights.

The next morning I explored the main strip. It was super sunny, hot, and really humid and sticky! Lima reminds me a lot of Mexico. The street was very busy and noisy with cars honking all around - oh and there is no such thing as a cross walk...apparently you are expected to risk your life as you dash accross the street infront of on-coming traffic on a regular basis. After finding the supermarket and satisfying my grumbling tummy, I returned to the hotel, anxious to meet my other team mates. Eight of us from the team enjoyed a city tour of Lima. Visiting a Pre-Inca and Inca artifact museum, the catacombs of a monastary and exploring the Plaza Mayor were among some of the many things we got to see and experience. It proved to be a very educational trip! Did you know that the peruvian kiss is said to be even more passionate than the french kiss...they even have a statue of it!

This morning we flew to Cuzco. It is much different here....much more....rural and relaxed. No one has been hit too hard with altitude sickness, but you definitely get short of breath very quickly and feel a little light headed at first. We have been told to take the weekend to relax and adjust, and we will start work on Monday. The rest of the team arrives tomorrow and then we will find out our roles for Peru´s Challenge!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Peruvian LoversPeruvian Lovers
Peruvian Lovers

Would you like a peruvian kiss?
Over CuzcoOver Cuzco
Over Cuzco

Picture from the airplane window as we fly into Cusco


8th March 2008

SUPERSTAR!!
Brilliant start my dearest-so much ahead of you-I'm so excited!!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb