Leaving Lima and Loki


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
November 1st 2007
Published: November 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The barThe barThe bar

Happy times and drunken times behind this bar.
Well Im at the airport now in Lima en route to Buenos Aires and after bitching about Lima for weeks Im now very sad since Ive grown to love it. I was supposed to fly yesterday but my flight was overbooked, so I got to go back to Loki Hostel for the Halloween party (and a few more games of pool) which was brilliant. And Ive got a free return ticket Lima-Buenos Aires, though god knows when Im going to use it......But yeah the overbooking thing was cool, especially since I arrived at the airport pretty drunk after several goodbye shots sloshing around my insides. Today Im sober. Twas a big night last night :-)

But yeah otherwise learning Spanish for a few weeks, playing pool, blackjack, watching movies, eating, drinking etc has basically been my life. And I went to a bullfight. And it was not so nice. And I will never go again.

Life at Loki has been awesome fun. I hate to say it, it will sound stupid if you havent experienced it, but there have been days when I just havent needed to leave the hostel, simply because everything you need is in there. Food, water, alcohol, movies, pool table, friends...After running from place to place, sleeping on night buses, making friends and then leaving for 3 months before that it was nice to get settled into one place.

The place is run by the coolest bunch of guys you will meet, and its almost like working for friends. I worked at the bar 3 times a week, got free stay, free dinner and 40% off on alcohol which was a pretteee sweet deal. And you can drink on the job. So as long as your not really messing things up, theyre more than happy to just let you be. I would strongly recommend the Loki Hostels (Lima, Cusco and La Paz) to everyone for a good, fun time and to meet some cool people. The only problem is you get sucked up into the life, and find it hard to leave. I dont think my liver could have held out much longer after a month so! And Ive got friends at the hostel, who keep saying "im off tomorrow" (yes you dan) but never make it so!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb