Leaving Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Barranco
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally got out of Lima Tuesday morning. It surprised me as a pleasant city for such a large place. I admit i stayed in the safe districts of Barranco and Miraflores most of my time. Miraflores is where all the gringos hang out with a large park, street markets, airlines, fastfood, small smoky cafes, lots of live music lots of nightlife. Barranco is smaller more bohemian neighbor, with a nice plaza surrounded by shops and day time activity, with plenty of nightlife. Lima is on the pacific, where they have good surf break, beach restaurants and bars. Just above are the cliffs where hangliding is a regular sport.
I met many interesting people mostly travellers but a few locals that I will keep in touch with. Took a day trip to Lunahuaco, where a group from the hostal went whitewater rafting. Mostly class III with consistent white water on the hour and a half run. Theres more difficult sections varying on the time of year. Enjoyed the scenery and several nice wavetrains. All in all a great time in Lima people and memeries i will never forget.
For now I go explore the city of Arequipa in southern Peru, that i have arrived in. Arequipa is known for many churches, beautiful plaza, and 3 mountain peaks that dramatically sit over the city. Hope all is good with everybody
adios
Jeff

Advertisement



3rd December 2009

I LOVE reading your travel blog! Sounds like you're really enjoying yourself, which is so awesome! Keep the updates coming... Enjoy Arequipa <3 Ashley
4th December 2009

got first one
I don't know how this blog stuff works, but since I have now been to Lima twice your comments were super interesting to me. Georgiana
4th December 2009

Whitewater
I love that you hit up some whitewater on the trip already! I think that you need to climb one of the 3 mountain peaks in Arequipa and take a great picture up there for me! Have fun Cus!
7th December 2009

The Mix
I'm in. Your Mom got me in the mix. I'll enviously follow your travels. How's your Spanish?
8th December 2009

WORLD CUP
sounds like you're making the most of your time in Peru = live-it-Up Jah suggested travel spots via my sister who was in Peru this past summer... Cusco to see Macchu Picchu and then she said Lake titikaka is way cool in terms of World Cup 2010... i will definitely be in Johannesburg (Ellis Park) with friends for game against Slovenia AND most likely then traveling to Pretoria (Loftus Versfeld) with my sister when she finishes her school year for game against Algeria .. not sure if i should leave early for game vs England OR plan to stay for semi-finals .. TBD i WILL help get you tickets for any games that i AM going to, i am TRUE to my word friend! SAFE TRAVELS eric
8th December 2009

whats up cousin
Sounds like you are having a good time. I'll try to meet up with you for either Carnival or the World Cup.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb