Back in Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Barranco
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey, this is Nat again.

We're back in Lima at the first place we stayed in the neighbourhood of Barranco.

Yesterday (was that really only yesterday?) we went to Machu Picchu again! We went up in the morning and spent about 3 hours wandering around. It was cloudy and rainy again when we got there and so we climbed up to what is called the "funerary caretaker's hut" and while we were sitting and recovering from the climb, the clouds began to lift. At the beginning it was like you could step off a ledge and fall into nothing but white clouds. Then as the clouds lifted, the whole city of Machu Picchu slowly came into view. I got some cool shots of the clouds lifting but unfortunately I won't be able to post them until we get back to Toronto. At M.P. I took most of the pictures on my Dad's camera and we don't have the usb plug for it. SORRY!!!!

Once the clouds lifted and the sun came out it was HOT! Very, very hot and humid. I had put on sunscreen before we left but I forgot a few spots and the top of my head, my ears and the back of my neck got sunburnt. Ve got a little toasty too but he doesn't burn as much as I do. I've had worse though 😊

So we wandered around for a few hours taking it all in and then when we couldn't move anymore, we took the bus back down the mountain to spend the rest of the day waiting for our train back to Ollantaytambo - say it with me now: O-yan-tay-tam-bo. We ran into a couple from St. Catherine's and chatted with them for a bit, then we sat on a little patio and watched all the tourists go by. We were pretty exhausted by this point and we're not used to the humidity any more, but I'm not complaining!! We did a little shopping in the market and found another restaurant to waste a few more hours in. Finally we went down to the train station to wait for our train at 6pm.

Somehow we made it back to the Green House and spent our last night there. It was sad leaving this morning, especially since I was sick for most of the time and didn't really get to take full advantage of all they had to offer. Gabriel and Bryan are so nice! If ever any of you come to Peru, you have to stay there! It really is amazing. Somehow they've made this piece of land in the middle of literally no where, into a welcoming and peaceful place for everyone. No matter where in the world you are from, you will feel at home.

And now we're back in Lima. We decided to skip Cusco for technical reasons and bought an early plane ticket back to Lima. It would have been just too hard to stick with the original plan. Hopefully I'll get my money back for the tickets that we were supposed to use on Monday, but I doubt it.

So now we get to actually go out and enjoy Lima. The plan for tomorrow is to go to the downtown area of Lima (Lima Centro) and check out a few museums maybe or just wander around and also to check out Barrio Chino - Chinatown. Ve's hoping they speak Cantonese there but so far people have told him they speak Mandarin, but what do they know! haha! Anyway, we'll see.

No pictures any more. Deal with it. You'll have to wait until Tues. or Wed. when we get back and then I will post them all and maybe even write descriptions! Wait till you see the Machu Picchu pictures. They're awesome!! Haha! Now I'm just teasing you!

Buenos Noches!

Advertisement



22nd November 2009

Hey!
Hey Nat, It sounds AMAZING! I cannot wait to see you and your pictures Lots of love jenn

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb