Voluntary work in Huancayo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
September 20th 2006
Published: September 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Huancayo on Saturday was a long one... 7 hours in total....but it was a comfortable one with Cruz del Sur and rather entertaining (watched 3 movies and played bingo). I decided to travel during the day because I thought it would be nice to watch the scenery and surely enough I wasn't let down! Although just before the bus left, I was told that usually people prefer to take the night bus so as to suffer less the symptoms of altitude sickness, which made me SO paranoid, but anyway ... 😊

Luckily the bus trip was fine. I did, however, get quite sick later that evening.... my head was spinning, I felt very nauseous and was about to faint a couple of times. I just went to bed and hoped I could sleep it off.....

Next morning, I was fine and just spent the day relaxing and getting to know the other volunteers - Karen from Scotland, and Catherine and Russell from the UK - who were so kind and immediately asked Vladi and I to join them to visit a nearby site, Wari Willka, where we got to see the remains of a pre-Inca temple of the Huanca tribe. Later during the day we went to Huancayo's Sunday market. That evening I even went to mass to see what it would be like ... and not to my suprise it was just like being in Malta.. hehe

Despite the day's activities, it was a tough day for me, trying to adjust to my new surroundings and I felt quite disorientated. Also at the back of my mind I kept wandering what the next day with the kids would be like .... would I be up to it, would the poverty of the place overwhelm me, would my Spanish be good enough??????

Monday morning I woke up feeling positive and open to whatever was awaiting me. Basically, I was told that Vladi and I would accompany the other two volunteers and Ellie (the daughter of the program director) to the 'mountain school' where we would play and teach English to young kids in the morning and older kids in the afternoon....

What can I say... I LOVED it!!!! Most of the time I was so excited and touched by it all that I had tears in my eyes. The school was really only a small hut which consists of 2 tiny rooms with planks of wood for the kids to sit on and there was mud all over the place as it had rained earlier. Somehow, none of it mattered. The children were so happy to see us - they ran up to us the minute they spotted us walking towards the school and were all begging for hugs and kisses from their 'profesoras' - 'hola miss, how are you miss?' And they were so eager to learn and show you what they had learnt.

It's great what Tinkuy Peru (www.tinkuyperu.com/tinkuyperu) is doing for these kids. These kids (and believe me, Huancayo's streets are full of kids) live in such poverty.... in basic dwellings, with no electricity, no water and of course no education whatsoever. Some are also orphans... it broke my heart to see, say a four-year old having to look after his two-year old sister...

I already know I'm really going to miss these kids.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Torre TorreTorre Torre
Torre Torre

Geological formations close to the Mountain School
Parque de la Identidad WankaParque de la Identidad Wanka
Parque de la Identidad Wanka

Catherine and Russell in Wanka costume
The 'Mountain School'The 'Mountain School'
The 'Mountain School'

Yes, the one to the left with the orange roof...
Morning SchoolMorning School
Morning School

Before starting the class, we wash the hands and faces of all the little ones and put some cream on as their skin is so damaged by the sun...
Morning SchoolMorning School
Morning School

Aren't they adorable...


20th September 2006

wow
the pics took my breath away.. I don't have much time to write now - i just skimmed through the post and saw the pics but felt i had to write something :) I will write more later.. so glad you're having a good time guapa.
20th September 2006

fantastic trip
keep me informed sounds so interesting and inspiring...
20th September 2006

COMPLIMENTI!!!
Brava, sei veramente una grande ad aver avuto il coraggio di partire, ora ti meriti una vacanza stupenda! ciao
20th September 2006

good luck
hi van, good luck for today...It will be an enriching experience for sure:)...take care and enjoy every minute:) xxx, lex
20th September 2006

Hey, there.....I'm happy to hear that you're doing fine and having a great time! You see, none of the riches of the worlds can make us happy but a helping hand will lift our spirits and get us close to the ones who are really in need of us :o) by-the-way, I loved the pics!!
20th September 2006

hi
Hi you just to tell that all photos are great.I hope that you have good time.Enjoy
22nd September 2006

Simply Amazing...
Just went through the pics...I must say they are amazing...the scenery and the kids pictures...I really wish I could do something similar...the kids are so sweet...it breaks my heart to see them in those conditions, but its incredible how they're happy at the same time. You're doing a good thing dudelle...
22nd September 2006

Hola .....
Hola chica bonita, I'm so glad you're doin fine n everything is goin well. From the photos you look so happy, especially those ones with the kids. Yes , they are adorable as you wrote, and I'm sure they will never forget the energetic girl who came all the way from a tiny island to put a smile on their faces and to warm their hearts. Your blog is so cool , I enjoy reading it so much. It gives me that feeling that I'm there with youuuu..... Take care profesora, Sam Xxxxxxxxxxxxx ......
12th October 2006

I was in Huancayo volunteering about a month and a half ago... same bus trip from Lima, too. The pictures are giving me flashbacks! Thank you, Katie

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb