Peru - Nazca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
February 5th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Nazca at 7am on Friday 5 February after a 9 hour overnight bus trip from Arequipa. My hotel (Hotel Alegria) was directly opposite the bus station and I was allowed to check in early so it was nice to finally have a proper shower after being in the Canyon for 3 days. After breakfast in the hotel, I booked my flight over the Nazca Lines for Sunday morning. Then I spent a couple of hours sunbathing by the hotel pool and swimming. In the afternoon I walked around town and got some lunch. In the evening I had dinner at the hotel and then watched a game of basketball on the TV. I set my alarm for 7.30am on Saturday to watch Liverpool beat Everton 1-0. After breakfast I watched Hull beat Man City 2-1 and then I was switching between Spurs Vs Villa and the England Vs Wales rugby match. Then I went for lunch and also booked my bus to Mancora for Monday morning. The rest of the day was spent relaxing in my room, reading and listening to music. I woke up at 6.30am on Sunday and a minivan picked me up and took me to the local airstrip. We boarded our 6 seater plane and I got to sit in the front seat next to the pilot. Within 2 minutes of take off, our pilot steered the plane sideways and told us to look down at out first sighting of one of the famous Nazca Lines. After 5 minutes, I was already feeling the motion sickness as the plane kept turning from side to side to allow people better views of the Lines. I managed to get a few decent photos but I was more than happy when we landed after half an hour in the air. The van took us back to the hotel and I watched Chelsea beat Arsenal 2-0 before having a siesta. At 4pm, I went for a walk and went to a restaurant for pizza. Then I grabbed a few beers and some Doritos and returned to my room to watch the Superbowl. On Monday I woke up at 6am for my 7am bus to Lima. After 8 hours on the bus, I arrived in Lima at 3pm. My connecting bus was at 4.15pm so this gave me an hour to walk around, stretch my legs and get some lunch. I boarded my bus for Mancora at 4.15pm and was pleased to see that it was very comfortable as I had read mixed reports about this bus company (CIAL). The 17 hour journey was very pleasant and the dinner and breakfast was very good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb