Checking into Nazca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
January 5th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early and shared a taxi with Evan to the Cruz del Sur bus terminal on Javier Mata. Evan is going to Nazca as well and we are on the same bus. He bought his ticket late so he is sitting in second class. So long Ink Lodge. A great place to stay if you want to be able to sleep.

The bus ride is long but normal for South America. It takes about 8 hours and we end up in the middle of the desert. It's really hot and I can't carry my main pack. I definitely packed too many things. I think I brought too many liquids. What was it my friend Kathy said? Oh yeah, pack and then unpack half your things as you won't need them. I'm beginning to think she is right. I will definitely need to look at unloading some of my stuff.

We find the hostel and check in. We end up walking around Nazca in less than one hour. It's not very big. I think I made a mistake by booking the hostel for four nights. Only time will tell...

We book a tour of the Nazca Lines for the next day and head out for dinner at the local Peruvian stop. The food is okay. It's nothing special, but it is authentic Peruvian food. After dinner, we walk around a bit and listen to a band playing in the Plaza de Armas. There is not much to do here so we head back to the hostel.

It's a slow night and I meet Christine (New Jersey). She is traveling with Guillaume (William in English), her cousin from Argentina. Christine shows me the pictures she took of the Nazca lines. The pictures are quite good. I'm looking forward to the tour. Note to self: read up on all the activities in a town/city before going there.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb