I´ve finally seen them!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The astronautThe astronautThe astronaut

It was so cool to see the lines for ourselves! I was worried that they wouldn´t be very clear, but we had a perfect day and we could see them all very clearly. It´s amazing...they were made between 900BC and 600AD and we can still see them!
I´ve finally seen the Nasca lines! It´s so exciting, I´ve been dreaming about this since I was 11! They were just as fantastic as I was hoping. Jamie and I went to a lecture at the planetarium last night - there are so many theories about why they were made, but no one has any conclusive proof of any of the theories. I´ve always like the theories about space aliens myself...and I have to agree with Erich von Daniken...some of the geometric ones could DEFINATELY have been UFO landing strips. Seriously though, the lines are amazing. We took off at 9am this morning (Jamie was so excited about flying in such a teeny plane) and we saw so many of the geoglyphs and biomorphs. My favourites were ´The Astronaut´ and the spider and monkey. The hummingbird was so clear! I kept thinking I was going to cry I was so happy! It was definately worth the wait.

This afternoon we´re going out to the Cemetery of Chauchilla, 30km outside of Nasca. It takes back to AD1000 and you can see mummies and bones and tombs and things. We also get to visit a gold mine and a pottery workshop.

I like Nasca so much more than Lima. Lima felt a bit scary and confronting, whereas Nasca is much more laidback and friendly. We walked home from the planetarium in the dark, and it felt fine, whereas in Lima, we were powerwalking back to our hotel when it was dusk.

Anyway, tonight we catch the bus to Cusco. The Lonely Planet says it takes about 20 hours, but we looked on our ticket and it looks like it might be less! Fingers crossed! Will let you know what we think of Cusco...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The dogThe dog
The dog

He´s upside down, but he´s there!
Donna in the desertDonna in the desert
Donna in the desert

Jamie took a nice artistic shot here...getting the long shadow and everything!
The spiderThe spider
The spider

If you look carefully, you can see him...


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb