First Week Teaching


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Sacred Valley
July 22nd 2005
Published: August 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Class 2BClass 2BClass 2B

Revision of that good ol´verb "to be".
As the week went by I felt more confident and settled about the teaching... I felt a bit nervous during the first few lessons, but I find that confidence grows quickly. I stuck to the theme of sports and games with all off the classes for the remainder of the week... gradually refining the lesson I was giving. I got the classes to do some fun activity focus excercises too, such as charades with sports.

I made a few learning's this week, such as: don´t hand out a worksheet and then try and explain it (they wont be listening!), and encountered a few problems, ie when you teach the verb ´to play´you run the risk of having kids writing 'I like playing horse riding', if the conditions aren´t clarified.

Because I hadn´t been sure exactly what to expect from the situation and the level of English that is already in place, I hadn´t really been able to plan for the week. From now on I should be able to plan things a little more. I think on the whole, the week went well, and the students seem to be learning.

Wednesday was my day off, so headed to Cuzco with Anna for a bit of an explore. Cuzco is pretty big, and sort of shanty-town-like around the edges. The central Plaza is immaculate with its grand colonial architecture and smooth paved streets.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.444s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb