Visit to the Sacred Valley


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Ollantaytambo
April 1st 2007
Published: April 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I signed up for a tour to visit the Sacred Valley today. Doing with a tour is probably the easiest way, just hope that you get a decent guide. I don't think it matters which travel agency you sign up with, they all seemed to be grouped together anyway. I waited around at the main square in Cusco until 0900hr before everyone got sorted out and finally got on the road.

Our guide was okay. We stopped by a small handicraft market before going to the one at Pisac. I had been looking forward to the Sunday Pisac market because I've heard so much about it. As we were told that the prices would be cheaper at the first stop, I bought a pair of small Pukara bulls, those on see on many rooftops, many along with a cross. The story behind the bulls are as follows: an old couple couldn't conceive so they decided to take a newly born calf as their son. They treated the calf as their own son, but one day the devil came by and said that he would kill the bull in 1 week. The couple pleaded with the devil, but it made matters worse; now the devil would kill the entire family. Knowing this, the bull went to the lake where the devil was on the last day and fought for his and his family's lives, unfortunately both perished. Since then the bull has been a symbol for protecting the home.

I thought I got a deal getting a small pair for 5 soles, but later I found that I could've had a pair of larger ones for 8 soles, meaning the smaller ones were probably worth less. Having taken taken advantage of a few times (my fault, really), I decided to bargain with the lady at the bano, trying to get in for 50c instead of 1 sol. She had the upper hand so I paid the asking price.

The Pisac market was very large, but every stall pretty much sold the same handicrafts. I was more fascinated by the vegetable/meat market which was right next to it.

The Pisac ruins was disappointing after seeing Winaywayna. After lunch we went to Ollantaytambo. It's impressive in terms of size, and I liked the ceremonial water fountain. Our guide pointed out that the quarry was about 6-7km away, and people still wonder to this date how large rocks were transported. There was evidence of a ramp, with some 'tired stones'. This was one of the few places where the Spanish conquistadors lost a major battle. I can't remember the story behind the face carved into the mountain opposite the ruins.

Our final stop was Chinchero to visit a colonial church. Like many others, it was built on Inca foundations. It has elaborate fresco and dubbed by the locals as the Sistine Chapel.

This was our last day in Cusco. We are off to Puno tomorrow.




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

chicha sold herechicha sold here
chicha sold here

an alcoholic beverage made from corn
Ollantaytambo-4Ollantaytambo-4
Ollantaytambo-4

Ollantaytambo's sun temple


Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb