Machu Picchu - Getting in Touch with Incas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
June 28th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Aguas CalientesAguas CalientesAguas Calientes

The statue of the Inca who defeated the spaniards

Let the Journey Begin



While in Cuzco, I just simply had to at least see the famous ruins since I opted out on the longer hikes. I thought I would be brave and take the local bus to Ollayntaytambo and then catch the train to Aguas Calientes and it is also the cheaper option.

Of coures no can begin a journey on an empty stomach so I grabbed some ceviche (the raw fish marinated in lime juice) at the local eatery and it was very delicious. So the ticket was really cheap, it only cost me around 5 soles which is less than $2.

I am not sure why they assigned me the seat cause I got put into the back of the bus. I almost had leg room, it was really close and the back row was all seats so we were squeezed like sardines in there. I LOVED IT! I thought I would be the only guy on the bus and as I squeezed in at the back for the bus but as it turnes out, an Italian lady and a Peruvian guy were to my left and right. At first I assumed they were a couple but after I asked them what's up I realized that the Italian lady was up for grabs...no just kidding.

I really like the fact that none of them spoke any english as it gave me a chance to practice my spanish and plus I had no choice...lol. When we started talking, and the Peruvian started going at full speed at me, at first I was a bit intimidated and was praying that he wouldn't ask me anymore questions to which I would reply with "What?" or "Can you repeat that over and over again?". After I relaxed I realized that I was able to understand and converse quite well with both of them.

Ollayntaytambo



So we came to Ollyanta and there seemed to be a problem with the computers so I was threatened with the proposition that I might have to sleep there overnight. But the Peruvian guy came to the rescue and hooked us up so off we went to Aguas Calientes. The Peruvian guy was sitting in the domestic section while the two of us were in the rip off wagon for about 10 times the price. It felt really good being treated equally and being able to do a lot about it. =)

Aguas Calientes



So we arrive there about 4 hours later and we find out that the Peruvian guy has hook ups there because he owns one of the bars there. So he hooked us up with cheap accomodation and took us to his bar which we got free booze. Not too bad for a days work I tell ya. Too bad it wasn't a big night out and after a while I was bored to absolute death watching some americans dance. I went to bed at around 1am because we were getting up early to take the hike up to Machu Picchu..

The next morning we got up at around 7am and went to get some breakfast. At this point I looked around a bit and realized how much I loved that town. I started debating whether I should stay there one more night. After breakfast we got our backpacks and started the trek. It is supposed to take around 1hour if you go at a relatively fast pace. The first section was a leisurely stroll but then we came to the disgustingly steep steps. We were
Machu PicchuMachu PicchuMachu Picchu

Sacraficial Table - Only animals were sacraficed at this site
climbing for about 10 minutes when I realized that the Italian lady was really out of shape. She told me ..."I am just taking it easy and no rush" but she took that to another level. I started to move forward as she cought up but she was so out of breath that I would have to wait another 20 minutes for her just to catch up. NOW...as sorry as I felt for her I ditched her like there is no tomorrow cause going her pace, there literally would be no tomorrow. I only had 2 days there. So off I went.

I was admiring the view and eventually cought up with some British guys who I hung around with for the better part of the day.

It's All About Having Fun With It



So I finally made it up there and the view was amazing. As I entered the city called Machu Pichu which means Old Peak I was really fascinated by it all and I was overwhelmed. I did not expect to see such beauty. The day was perfect. Not a cloud in the sky, so I started to take pictures like nobody's business. It
Machu Picchu - Inca BridgeMachu Picchu - Inca BridgeMachu Picchu - Inca Bridge

Scenery on the way to the Inca Bridge
takes roughly 3 hours to tour the whole thing properly. The first strategic step one has to take is to look for a group of senile tourists with a guide. Then you join them and listen in on all the juicy details while pretending to be just looking around. Some will stare at you and in my opinion wonder why they didn't do the same thing knowing how cheap they really are. Others will just stare from the corners of their eyes knowing they can't do anything about it. The bitterness simply brings tears to my eyes....aaah. Step two is basically when you had enough of their crap or you feel like you know enough info about the bloody place and are tired of walking around at snails pace, you simply detach yourself from the group and abandon them like an unwanted stepchild.

This way, you do it your way and achieve perfect balance. I also had the option to climb the Huayan Picchu which is the peak you see on all the postcards but I was too tired to take a 40min vertical climb just to see another view. In the afternoon, the llamas and alpacas came to dazzle us with their presence. It was cool and I took a lot of pictures even though one freak tried to spit at me but missed miserably...well in my opinion.

I kept walking up and what do I see? A trail to the Inca Bridge. It's a good thing I went all the way up cause I would have missed it. It only took about 10 minutes to reach it. The scenery was beautiful so I got the jist of what the 5 day hike would have been like. The Inca bridge is intriguing simply because the Incas built it on a steep rock face. I have no idea how they did it but who am I to inquire about that. On my way back, I met the Italian woman again so we relaxed for a bit until she told me that she still hasn't seen everything and was going to check out the sacraficial table which I have already seen. So I ditched her again without hesitation. I slowly started making my way back to the gate. I was getting hungry so I decided to get raped at the restaurant right outside the gate. It cost about 15
Machu PicchuMachu PicchuMachu Picchu

Just me and the Llamas. =)
soles for a hamburger and another 11 soles for a drink. Yes, around $10 but I was hungry. After I ate that, I decided to take the bus down for $6 instead of hiking down. I fell asleep and it was well worth it.

I ended up going to the market and buying some casual pants that are highly in fashion there by the tourists. I met the Italian woman again just before the train left so we travelled back to Ollaynta together. Then we took the bus back to Cuzco and said our goodbyes. It feels kinda funny to just say goodbye knowing you will never see that person again. To me, it always feels kinda sad. I never got her email or anything. Oh well.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

The view from top of the site


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb