Macchu Picchu!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
October 26th 2007
Published: October 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, this will be a quick one I promise! This morning I went to see Macchu Picchu and all I can say is ´OH MY GOD!´Its amazing! The place is huge and the ruins are so impressive. I had a lovely guide and she knew loads of history about the ruins and it was really interesting to hear all about it. Being inside the ruins is so peaceful, its just like this feeling of calm and tranquility hits you as soon as you get off the bus. You´re surrounded on everyside by mountains and there were white clouds floating past in the bright sunshine. We even saw a circular rainbow in the clouds, really pretty! And the whole area was just beautiful. The ruins themselves are 70% original and they are still excavating areas to see what other treasures they can find. The incas were amazing engineers and seeing the way that the buildings are made, and the relationship they have to the sun and mountains is cool. The sun was their main God and so in the temple of the sun they have windows positioned so that on the summer solstice the first sunrise comes through one of them exactly, and on the winter solstice through the other one. My guide showed me a picture of the summer solstice sun rise and the effect it has is pretty spectacular. I can´t really even begin to describe it to you and will have to show you all the photos when I get home. All I can say is that it was all I was expecting and more and I´d definitely recommend anyone to visit it.
I had arrived at the ruins really early (6.30am!) and so by 10 I was back in aguas calietes with lots of time to waste. So I decided to walk to th museum which is about half an hour away from the main plaza. Walking there was fine, but walking back up the hill in the midday heat was pretty hard work. As soon as I got back I just collapsed in the nearest restaurant I found, just pleased to be out of the sun! But the museum was interesting and they also had some botanical gardens which were pretty. However now I´m exhausted and can´t wait to get on the train to take me back to my hostel with a comfy bed and a hot shower!
This afternoon I´m heading back to Cuzco for one night and then I´m off to the jungle tomorrow. Am kind of nervous and I hope that there aren´t too many creepy crawlies to scare me! Will write again as soon as I can. Bye for now.

Advertisement



28th October 2007

your adventures
Hi jen, just caught up with all your journals, what an experience! and its not over yet. Cant wait to see your photos, hope you will do them in work, ha ha. see you when you get back, text me when back in the uk, byeeeee

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb