Come again where are you from, Tonga!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
April 5th 2007
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes Tonga

A kingdom with 150000 residents near Fiji islands in south pacific. I was planning my itinerary in Tacna for my travel in peru (a small town, serves as an entry port from Arica in Chile) with a travel agent when a big guy (who looked liked someone from hawaii or fiji, trying to figure things out through his lonely planet guide) interjected "can I have the same plan like him" to the travel agent. Well he was to be my travel partner for my last leg of the trip. We traveled from Tacna to Cuzco on two buses over 18 hours and had lot of time to know about each others lifes and countries. Tamanika (aka Drue) had traveling stories to match his exotic country. The guy was a mechanic/amature full contact fighter (had a body to match some 300 pounds), had crossed europe on a bike and apparently had seen a world map only when he left the country. A sweet talker and very funny guy.
By the time we reached Cuzco, Drue who would not stop about his tales of fighting, his long bike travels and his toughness was holding is head, rubbing it against the window. Wellcome to altitude sickness (cuzco is at 3300 meters), on the bus I had coca tea (which apparently helps) and also I had been on higher altitudes before but Mr He Man was comming from sea level.

time to catch the flight

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb