Cusco Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
October 1st 2006
Published: October 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Peru 1st October....Oh My God I’ve fallen in love with it, we have 4 days to acclimatise and day 3 I am still sick with chest infection, cough..cold..but getting better, climbed steps this morning to take some pictures of the view and the altitude is a killer...I am thinking how will I do this 4 day trek..I´ve been resting and sleeping for 3 days..at this stage I could turn into a bed and I have chronic cabin fever.. haven’t checked out the night life yet and I really feel I have to before I end up going crazy!

The people are just so nice here, always asking things about you, your name, very curious as to where you are from and how long you are staying and if you like Cusco..people are as nice in Cusco as they are in Guatemala. Even the guys that try and get you into the bars ask were your are from, I say Irelandaa...they say..Capital ..Dublin..are you a jackeen or a culshie...they had to have got that from a Dub for sure! and they even have some Gealic..Conas a ta tu? funny guys!!

The terrain in Cusco is steep, combining valleys with mountains, the city of Cusco, more like a huge town and when its lit up at night it’s like Christmas...has to be without a doubt one of the most amazing places I’ve visited so far, this magical city has an exciting nightlife with all you could want.... cafés, restaurants, bars, boutiques...markets...Clothes shops....heaven!!

Oct 5th - Night before Inca Trek.....

Of course Murphy’s Law has to peek its ugly head and although me and Karen have rested for 3.5 days we decided to go out the night before the trek just to see what it’s like and also because we have roped some unsuspecting doctor to accompany us...just for one...he is a gynie so he should have have some interesting stories!

5.20am Caesar one of the guides comes knocking for us and this sees us stagger some what bleary eyed to the bus that awaits to take us to Kilometre 81 the start of the trek...Max the main guide speaks for an hour, he has excellent english and loves talking...all I want to do is catch up on some zed’s but he is having none of it, wants us all to introduce ourselves and where we are from and if he knows anything about our country he will say so (he is a funny witty guy and I’m glad we have him as a guide)

Pictures of Cuzco-click on slide show


Next blog the trek to Macchu Picchu....



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Peru - CuzcoPeru - Cuzco
Peru - Cuzco

Little coffee shop in Cuzco
CuzcoCuzco
Cuzco

Local Woman with her child - Cuzco
PeruPeru
Peru

Just like Chriostmas here every night!!
PeruPeru
Peru

Hostel we stayed in,would recommend it,very quiet but suited as I was sick & didnt need any temptation to go out!
PeruPeru
Peru

Winding Streets of Cuzco
PeruPeru
Peru

Local Children on their way to school.


24th October 2006

Cool trip!
Looks like a really cool trip B, enjoy, and as they say in San Francisco " Be careful out there!" You going to the south island in NZ?

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb