Sacsayhuaman... the head of the Puma


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 25th 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

My whole morning was engaged booking my trip to Machu Picchu, but once that was sorted, I had the whole afternoon to myself and decided to take the bus to Sacsayhuman, an immense ruin of religious and military significance, and only 20 minutes by bus from Cusco.

The weather wasn´t the best, it was cloudy and quite cold. Luckily, I had my rain jacket.... although I did go in flip flops... hehehe

The place was amazing just the same.... the Incas envisioned Cusco in the shape of a puma (Inca culture is full of symbolism, I´m discovering), with Sacsayhuman as the head and its 22 zigzagged walls form the teeth of the puma.

I think we walked around for about an hour and it felt like I was a kid again, in some fantasy world full of mazes and secret passages and magic doorways... hehe...

Once again, I wondered what Machu Picchu would be like in comparison....

Enjoy the pics...

P.S. Thanks for your comments and messages, evertime I´m online, it´s the first thing I look at 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Inti RaymiInti Raymi
Inti Raymi

This large, flat parade ground is used for the Inti Raymi - 'Festival of the Sun' - held every June 24th
The Puma´s teethThe Puma´s teeth
The Puma´s teeth

Three-tiered zigzagged fortifications
Lamas...Lamas...
Lamas...

Finally, I got a close look at a lama... and I can verify that they DO spit... luckily, thanks to my quick reflexes, I managed to step aside in time! :)
Kids at playKids at play
Kids at play

The girl to the right is dressed in traditional Andean clothing...


1st October 2006

oooh i wonder if you're in Machu Pichu now.. Lovely pics as usual.. can't wait to see the rest xoxox
1st October 2006

hi
hi ivanca, i'm very glad hearing ( and reading ;) ) about your experiences there. sounds really exciting, wish i could be there. enjoy every second there! things like that happen only once in life. i read about your voluntary work. it's amazing. wish you unforgettable days. kisses, nadja
2nd October 2006

flip-flops???
lol!!! you make me laugh!!! flip-flops:)!!!! the pics are still amazing though despite the weather:)
2nd October 2006

Lamas
hehehehehe im so glad i just saw photos of 2 lamas they look so sweet hope you told them i said hi byebye GIselle
3rd October 2006

hi
Hi!!!!How i see you have great time there.Thats good and photos are good 2.Enjoy

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb