Estoy en PERU!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 26th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived here in Cusco after one last trip to Banos in Ecuador where I woke up early to soak in the spas with the locals. I was the only tourista there at that hour which was interesting. My white skin prob blinded people with the rising sun. I spent two nights in Banos exploring the town, sleeping through the errupting volcano, meeting random travelers on adventures that wowed me. I met a French guy who had been living in Quebec and decided to drive to Sur America with an amigo. They have been on the road for 5 months and were having troubles with the car (transmission) in Banos. They are planning on heading to the Southern tip of the Continent. Quite interesting.

Eventually, after a flight and evening in Lima, I made it here to Cusco. I was greeted by my host sister (I am staying with a family) and I immediately felt comfortable. We ate almuerzo and headed 100m to the Stadium to watch un partido de futbol. It was a good game and Cusco won. After the game, my sister invited friends over for the evening. I spent the evening trying to understand the fast convo, sometimes entering el mundo de Erin.

My first day was spent touring the basics of the city, gathering information, and getting to "know" Cusco a bit. My second day was spent walking up an enormous hill to Inca ruins called Saqsaywaman and getting to know other students better. It was an amazing day with beautiful views and people, with good connections all around--- a confirmation of my travels.

I am stoked to be here in Peru and I look forward to exploring more of this part of the country. I go to a spanish school cada manana, which is a good program. However, I am quite sick of school and I find myself having more moments where I want to run off and go where the wind blows me. My spanish is improving though and por eso, I am fulfilling part of my goal. I would love to hear what mis amigos de Cali y other parts of the mundo are doing, so keep me posted.

Mucho Amor

Advertisement



26th September 2006

Hey!!! Cool
Glad to hear you've gotten to Cusco in one piece. I'm in New York about to sign a year lease with the buddies. Its been good, I made a bunch of cash helping someone with their web site and my computer got damaged when it was shipped over to me. Um, thats the short version! Have fun doing the espanol thang. -Will
26th September 2006

Hello beautiful travelling Erin! It's so so good to hear/read from you. Things are oh-so beautiful up here in Washington. I'm getting all my study abroad stuff off (trying to go to Amsterdam next semester to study sexuality and gender identity - so excited) and am enrolled in rockin' classes. ALL of my classes are in Religion or Gender Studies departments (or both! oh, and yoga) and are making me really happy about learning and schooling. I've met a few really cool cats and we're doing circus skill-shares two or three times a week. I'm also up in Seattle at least once or twice a week. I've had a good time hula hooping, rubber duckie racing, getting a bunch of friends to make out in the Seattle Public Library's elevators, and am in the process of making BEAUTIFUL new friends. Holy moly, I've really hit jackpot this year - where did all these fabulous people come from and why haven't I met them before? I guess now is the exact right time. So, long vida short, todos es fantabulous. Thinking of you, -Anna bananna@sonic.net
1st October 2006

?
Erin-Your travels sound amazing! I am very jelouse. I enjoy reading of your adventures. I am glad you are comfortable with your host family. Anna's comment makes me miss st dots, and hanging out with all of oyu guys. Although, I know we are all off doing are sperate things. Oh, this might amuse you, there is a girl in my frnech class that reminds me so much of you. Its crazy! And on friday she wore a yarn-woven beenie, and i saw her walking across campus, and I swear i almost thought it was you. Weird. Well, I will write again some other time. Much love-Chelsea

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb