Feeling Comfortable in New Places


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 18th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

18 Abril - Cusco
I have felt my destiny in the Plaza de Armas in Cusco as well as in the town square in Urubamba, but mostly in two places.
The first was the first time I had visited the Plaza de Armas in Cusco, the first day I was here. It was the first day of Semana Santa, a Monday when thousands of people flock to the plaza to witness the reenactment of an act taken place many years ago. During the last earthquake in 1650, clergy carried a crucifix around the plaza and prayed for the tremor to stop, it did, and now they reenact it every year.
Thousands of people turn out, and I felt like I had entered another world...my world. We sat in a coffee shop and chatted; Erik, Jessica, Ben and I, and we were surrounded by people and energy. There were people there from all over the world and I made friends with people from Scotland, the Netherlands, Great Britain, and France. What an amazing night. I knew immediately that I belonged there at that very moment.
The other place was yesterday and Saturday night in a place called Ollantaytambo. I felt instantly grounded and at peace in that place. I have read about and experienced placed like this, and I was glad that my theory of the place help fast. With all that history, mystery, love, and energy, that mystical place had to house powerfully positive energy, and it did.
I went with a new friend, Ashli, and she felt the same, or at least something similar. Unfortunately, it was there that I came down with my cold. Like I said, I was tired, run down, and it was cold and rainy. And it is now getting late and I need my rest, so for now I will close.

Photos of Urubamba:
Urubamba

Photos of Ollantaytambo:
Ollantaytambo


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb