Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 10th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

10 Abril - Cusco
I walked around Cusco tonight like a ghost. Very few people acknowledged my presence or even made eye contact with me. This is in stark contrast to last night and even earlier today, where everywhere you turn there are children of all ages accosting you to buy this or that, and I've been followed a couple of times by presumably would-be pickpockets. But not tonight. I walked all through the city for about three hours, through some pretty run down areas, and the dogs gave me the most notice. I don't know why, possibly because this is the first day of the holy week prior to Easter, and there were thousands of people here for a ceremony in the Plaza de Armas.
What a huge event that was. The whole thing is the procession of a crucifix with Jesus nailed to it through the square. During the last earthquake, the clergy did this, praying all the while for the quake to end, of course it did, and now they reenact it every year to growing numbers of spectators. I'm not sure what the rest of the week will bring, but I know there are more events.
Today was also my first day of Spanish class. The four-hour session went really quickly. There was me and one other girl in the class, but I still think I will switch to a one-on-one session. It is supposed to be much more intense, but I will learn a lot more. I feel like I should pick this language up really quickly. We shall see.
And I met my host family today. They seem really nice, but I don't know much about them, so I don't have much to write.

Check out my Cusco photo album on Kodak's website:
CuscoPhotos

Advertisement



27th September 2006

Plaza de Armas looks beautiful but so overwhelming to be there by yourself.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb