The City Tour and The Journey Home


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 11th 2005
Published: April 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Amie and I went on a city tour of Cuzco. We went to Sacsayhuaman , which is the Inca Temple of the Sun. Sacsayhuaman is Quechua for “satisfied falcon,” but many visitors pronounce it “sexy woman.” This site is famous for their Inti Rayni, which is the dance of the Incas. Tom Cruise and Madonna have been to Sascayhuaman! It was ironic that right next to an ancient temple of the Incas was a larger-than-life white statue of Jesus Christ, known as Christo Blanco. We traveled to an Incan “Post Office,” and my favorite was the “Fountain of Youth!”
After our city tour, Amie and I found ourselves again in the Cuzco airport. We caught our flight to Lima, which thankfully was a large airplane. While in Lima, we hailed a cab to take us to Miraflores, the uppity-up “what’s hot now” district. I fit right in with my scrubby clothes, baseball cap, and sneaks. After the cab right, I decided that I don’t like vans that climb mountains or taxis in Lima. We had a nice meal along the ocean and sipped coffees before our next flight to the US.
Now it’s time for a funny story: remember when I said that no one knew where South Dakota is so I would say California. Well, I met a woman at the airport who was from California, so I said that she had it easy because everyone knows where that is and no one knows where South Dakota is so I say I’m from California to make it easier. She started laughing. It turns out that she had been eating at a restaurant where the waiter said that hey knew someone from California too. The woman asked where in California did the waiter’s friend live, and the waiter replied, “Minnesota.” Here I thought that I was being a trickster!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb