First week at the clinic


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 18th 2011
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I have finished the first week at the clinic and its all gone well so far. I have mostly sat in with the doctors or nurse, there's another medical student here and we sorta take turns to go with the doctor. The nurse is quite funny though and I do sorta simple things with her like take blood pressure, pulse, height, weight, temperature but if we have time I can talk to the patient and try take a history quickly!

In general, I haven't seen any rare things yet. The same conditions as you would see in GP land back home!

The doctors have let me mostly just sit in on consultations and exam patients. Its been fine, I would like to see people on my own but I am not sure of we have the time or the room! And my spanish isn't that good, I'm considering more lessons but to be honest I'd rather have the free time! I'm sure I will see patients on my own soon enough.

On Tuesday I took the morning off to look round some the sights and museums with Maglina(sp?), another niece of Paulinas. Maglina speaks some English so we done well practising between us!! She really knew her history and was a great guide and we managed to see lots of museums and galleries. She took me round the main plaza as there was lots of children dancing for the Festival de Inti Ryme this month. I don't think there will be as much festivities when you are here Eoghan! She also gave me tips on where is safe and not at night and how to get a safe taxi, as I haven't really ventured out to the bars yet. The clinic starts at like 8am so probably not a good idea during the week!

Then we went round the traditional market where you can buy, pretty much anything. Maglina said it is much cheaper than the main shops.


Three Italian doctors arrived on Wednesday, 2 gynaecologist and 1 respiratory doctor. They are lovely and the clinic have put on a massive lunch every day since they have been here which I get to go to as well! I have been well fed! They only had a clinic today, and only had like 2 patients, no idea why. They have invited me to go sightseeing with them tomorrow. I sorta couldn't say no, I would have felt guilty as they were being so nice. But the two places they are going to I have already been to! So tomorrow morning I am off to see Pisac and Chinchero again!

They have also ask me to come with them on Tuesday to visit one of the small communities in the countryside so that should be a pretty awesome experience.

Last night I met the girls I know from Newcastle. Other medical students on their placement in the hospital here.. They seem to have gone out loads since they have got here and I have been a bit of a loser! It was nice catching up but it wasn’t a mad one or anything. They want me to go white water rafting next weekend with them, I’m not sure if I should do it! Sounds like fun but I might wait until Eoghan is here because it sounds like the kind of thing he might want to do. But I think I am going to meet up during the festival on Friday.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb