Tour guide in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
May 4th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CuscoCuscoCusco

View on the other side of the valley
So last monday I arrived here in Cusco after a 9 hour bus journey (bed included). As monday was the first of may, I didn´t have to work and went the next day to the office of GAP. They told me they needn´t anybody in the office, which is fine as I didn´t come here to work behind another computer. They told me I could work as a tour leader in a small village called Ccaccaccollo. Here the women are supported by the Planeterra Foundation, a non-profit organization developed by G.A.P Adventures. They are receiving building materials to build a small hall, where they can weave their products when it rains.
They were trained in the old weaving techniques of the Inca´s and sell their products now to the tourists.

So the next day I went there with the director of GAP here in Cusco to the town to check it out. Apparently the guy Erick has a fancy for sportcars and had a turbo engine in his one. It was filled with methanol and petrol, which gave him some turbo boost. He drove with 160 km an hour through the windy roads of the sacred valley. He also had
Alpaca feeding timeAlpaca feeding timeAlpaca feeding time

In the background Erick the furious driver with two local women
a camera which flashed in his eye for when he had to change gear. Every time he changed gear the car hissed dangerously and we were catapulted forwarded, what a drive! On the way back I told him that he should go faster, so he did as well!!

Today I had no tours, so I decided to take some private salsa lessons. Better get some more practice in as I am a stiff old European. Tonight the teacher is taking me out to practice some more, curious!

Tomorrow I have 2 tourgroups and on saturday 3. Yes I work on saturday as well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Alpaca feeding timeAlpaca feeding time
Alpaca feeding time

Here I am feeding the wool producers
Erick and SaskiaErick and Saskia
Erick and Saskia

Here´s that monster of a car!


5th May 2006

going strong mies!!
Nice going Mies!!! Enthousiastic stories!! Maybe you can become my tourguide? Still haven't planned my month to Boston...and maybe i'll be between jobs in september...so perhaps destination Cusco ;-) ?? Muchos besos! lfs m
9th May 2006

Tourguide
Na een heerlijk weekje in Frankrijk was het weer leuk van je te horen. (Nou ja:zien) En leef je je een beetje uit als gids? Zal best wel een van Rijswijk tintje inzitten! Karel wil zo graag naar La France, dat hij zelfs overweegt slakken te gaan kweken. En hier maar strooien met die korrels!!!!! Nou ja, we zullen wel zien. Blij dat jij het naar je zin hebt. Salutions Karel en Annettte

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb